Amstel Gold Race overlooks previous winners
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Amstel Gold Race overlooks previous winners

by VeloNation Press at 1:34 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Spring Classics, Amstel Gold Race
This year the Amstel Gold Race will be missing two Italians that have animated the race in the past.

Danilo Di Luca and Davide Rebellin both ride for teams that were not selected for a wildcard, Team LPR and Diquigiovanni respectively. The organizers instead gave the wildcard invitations to Cervelo Testeam and Landbouwkrediet-Colnago.

Di Luca won the Amstel Gold Race in 2005, while Rebellin took the honors in 2004.

Rebellin will also miss out on defending his 2008 win in Paris-Nice because his Diquigiovanni team was overlooked by organizers.

This years Amstel Gold Race will take place on Sunday, April 19 and will again finish on the famous Cauberg climb.

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC