Daphny van den Brand powers to Women’s Koksijde World Cup victory
  December 10, 2023 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Daphny van den Brand powers to Women’s Koksijde World Cup victory

by Ben Atkins at 12:01 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross, Race Reports and Results
European champion leads from the front to take solo victory ahead of Marianne Vos

daphny van den brandDaphny van den Brand (AA Drink-Leontien.nl) won her first World Cup race of the season, taking her second victory in the Duinencross in Koksijde, Belgium. The European champion beat World champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) – in her first race of the season – by a distance of thirteen seconds after managing to distance her compatriot in the latter stages of the race.

US champion Katie Compton (Rabobank-Giant) marked her return to European competition with third place in the race that she has won twice in the last three years.

Van den Brand hit the front early and managed to open up a commanding lead inside the first lap. Not having raced so far this year, Vos started from a long way back in the grid, but eventually fought her way to the front and managed to bridge across to her compatriot in the lead.

The two Dutch women rode together for some time before van den Brand accelerated in the final lap. Vos’ lack of race sharpness finally showed on the exhausting sandy course, and the World champion was forced to watch her compatriot ride away to victory.

Compton, having only recently returned from the US and her double victory in Louisville, managed to hold off the rest of the field, to finish just eighteen seconds behind Vos.

In the absence of World Cup leader Katerina Nash (Luna Chix), and with the competition’s second place rider Sanne van Paassen (Brainwash) finishing fourth, it was a double-day for van den Brand as she took over the leader’s jersey. After fourth place in Plzen and second in Tabor, the Dutchwoman now has a total of 150 points, and leads her compatriot van Paassen by fifteen.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

Koksijde World Cup Results, Belgium:

  Click on the arrowsat the top of the column to sort the race results.
Country Result Name Team Time
ned NED 1 Daphny Van Den Brand (AA Drink-Leontien.nl) s.t.
ned NED 2 Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) s.t.
usa USA 3 Katherine Compton (Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team) s.t.
ned NED 4 Sanne Van Paassen (Brainwash Wielerploeg) s.t.
bel BEL 5 Sanne Cant (Boxx VeldritAcademie) s.t.
gbr GBR 6 Helen Wyman (Horizon Fitness Racing Team) s.t.
gbr GBR 7 Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-fidea ) s.t.
ned NED 8 Sophie De Boer (Young Telenet-fidea ) s.t.
fra FRA 9 Lucie Chainel-lefevre s.t.
gbr GBR 10 Gabriella Day (Chainstay) s.t.
cze CZE 11 Pavla Havlikova (Young Telenet-fidea ) s.t.
fra FRA 12 Caroline Mani s.t.
ned NED 13 Sabrina Stultiens (Brainwash Wielerploeg) s.t.
ger GER 14 Sabrina Schweizer s.t.
sui SUI 15 Jasmin Achermann s.t.
ned NED 16 Arenda Grimberg (WV Het Stadion) s.t.
usa USA 17 Amy Dombroski s.t.
bel BEL 18 Kaitlin Antonneau s.t.
bel BEL 19 Joyce Vanderbeken s.t.
ned NED 20 Reza Hormes Ravenstijn (Orange Babies) s.t.
swe SWE 21 Kajsa Snihs s.t.
fra FRA 22 Christelle Ferrier-breneau (Gauss ) s.t.
ger GER 23 Gesa Bruchmann s.t.
bel BEL 24 Nicolle De Bie Leyten (Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team) s.t.
bel BEL 25 Ellen Van Loy s.t.
cze CZE 26 Martina Mikulaskova s.t.
bel BEL 27 Hilde Quintens s.t.
swe SWE 28 Asa Maria Erlandsson s.t.
usa USA 29 Christine Vardaros s.t.
fra FRA 30 Marlène Petitgirard s.t.
den DEN 31 Nikoline Hansen s.t.
ned NED 32 Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (GRTC Excelsior) s.t.
ita ITA 33 Alice Maria Arzuffi s.t.
sui SUI 34 Sabrina Maurer s.t.
bel BEL 35 Katrien Thijs s.t.
bel BEL 36 Kim Van De Steene s.t.
ita ITA 37 Vania Rossi s.t.
fra FRA 38 Stéphanie Vaxillaire-denuit s.t.
den DEN 39 Margriet Kloppenburg (Dura Vermeer Cycling Team ) s.t.
bel BEL 40 Shana Maes s.t.
gbr GBR 41 Hannah Payton s.t.
lat LAT 42 Madara Furmane s.t.
lat LAT 43 Lelde Ardave s.t.
fra FRA 44 Amélie Morel Petitgirard s.t.

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC