Movistar launched in Madrid, team aiming high in 2012
  May 27, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Movistar launched in Madrid, team aiming high in 2012

by VeloNation Press at 11:09 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Stronger lineup should lead to more success

Team MovistarReferring to the addition of some big-name riders as a sign that the team can expect a far more successful season, Movistar general manager Eusebio Unzué said at today’s launch that the squad was feeling ambitious in 2012.

“We will not be setting any specific marks, but it's obvious that we have the potential to fight for victories in the most important races,” he said at today’s launch in the Telefónica Auditorium in Madrid's company headquarters in the Distrito Telefónica.

“Last year was a success on the sporting side because we were able to get twenty victories with no big stars, and above all, due to the unanimous recognition we had towards our image and attitude,” said Unzué, a very experienced manager who was involved in seven Tour de France victories by his riders.

“For this reason, we are keeping the same group and will have some riders joining to prop up our level, in some cases able to lead the squad, such as Alejandro Valverde and Juanjo Cobo.” Also coming on board is the Italian champion Giovanni Visconti, who is also a proven winner.

The team also includes the Spanish champion José Joaquín Rojas, strong riders such as Fran Ventoso, Vasil Kiryienka or David Arroyo, and a range of promising young riders such as the Spaniards Beñat Intxausti, Jonathan Castroviejo, Ángel Madrazo and Jesús Herrada, the Colombian Nairo Quintana, Costa Rican Andrey Amador and the Portuguese Rui Costa.

There are 28 riders in all. They will aim higher than 2012, but Movistar’s Technical General Secretary Luis Abril said he was already encouraged by how the first season went. “Last year, I only asked you to do things well and honour the brand,” he said. “The grade of your accomplishment was the highest. I don't think that there's anyone at Telefónica not feeling proud of you.

“In a really hard season from a psychological point of view, you defended the brand and its values and defended yourselves as professionals as real lions. You gave exactly the impression we wanted you to give the world, and thanks to you, the sport did not get lost.”

The team clocked up 21 wins in all in 2012, with those including stage victories in each of the Grand Tours. Thi season has already started well with Valverde’s stage win and second place overall in the Santos Tour Down Under.

Next up will be the Mallorca Challenge races, which start on Sunday and are the first European events this year for the squad.

Team Movistar 2012:

Andrey Amador (Costa Rica, 1986)
David Arroyo (Toledo, 1980)
Marzio Bruseghin (Italy, 1974)
Jonathan Castroviejo (Vizcaya, 1987)
Juanjo Cobo (Cantabria, 1981)
Rui Costa (Portugal, 1986)
Imanol Erviti (Pamplona, 1983)
Iván Gutiérrez (Cantabria, 1978)
Jesús Herrada (Cuenca, 1990)
José Herrada (Cuenca, 1985)
Beñat Intxausti (Vizcaya, 1986)
Javier Iriarte (Navarra, 1986)
Vladimir Karpets (Russia, 1980)
Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus, 1981)
Ignatas Konovalovas (Lithuania, 1985)
Pablo Lastras (Madrid, 1976)
David Lopez (Vizcaya, 1981)
Ángel Madrazo (Cantabria, 1988)
Javier Moreno (Jaén, 1984)
Sergio Pardilla (Ciudad Real, 1984)
Rubén Plaza (Alicante, 1980)
Nairo Quintana (Colombia, 1990)
José Joaquín Rojas (Murcia, 1985)
Branislau Samoilau (Belarus, 1985)
Enrique Sanz (Navarra, 1989)
Alejandro Valverde (Murcia, 1980)
Francisco José Ventoso (Cantabria, 1982)
Giovanni Visconti (Italy, 1983)


General Manager: Eusebio Unzué.
Sports Directors: José Luis Jaimerena, Alfonso Galilea, Yvon Ledanois, José Luis Arrieta.
Mechanics: Fernando Sánchez, Roberto San Emeterio, Fermín Gómez, Senen Pintado, Alexander Gubanov, Aritz Berruezo.
Masseurs: José Ángel Arenas , Juan Carlos Escámez, Borja Jaimerena, Fernando Gómez, Garikoitz Baños, Iñaki Aranguren, Mikel Otero, David González.
Doctors: Jesús Hoyos, Alfredo Zuñiga.
Coach / Biomechanics: Jon Iriberri.
Nutritionist: Ion Garraus.
Osteopath: David Puigdefábregas.
Office: Francisco Fdez. Maestre, Juan Pablo Molinero, David García, Daniel Sánchez, Verónica Lorca, Leire Beitia.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC