Marianne Vos solos to third Trofeo Binda victory
  June 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Marianne Vos solos to third Trofeo Binda victory

by Ben Atkins at 11:04 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Spring Classics, Race Reports and Results
Dutch champion continues dominance of 2012 World Cup with final climb attack

marianne vosMarianne Vos (Rabobank) continued her domination of the 2012 World Cup with a dominant solo victory in the Trofeo Alfredo Binda in Cittiglio, northern Italy. The Netherlands champion, who won the 2009 and 2010 editions of the race, attacked on the climb to Orino on the last of four finishing laps, and rode away from a group of ten riders to finish alone.

“I am delighted with this win,” said Vos at the finish, “and I really couldn’t say which of my three victories in Cittiglio was the best. Today the group reformed following Loes Gunnewijk’s break and then I took advantage of a moment of indecision to break away from them.”

2009 World champion Tatiana Guderzo (MCipollini-Giambenini) won the uphill sprint for second place, ahead of Trixi Worrack (Specialized-lululemon) in third.

“I didn’t really feel good,” said Guderzo, “then kilometre after kilometre, I found the strength to keep going and end up being a protagonist at the finish line.”

Vos’ attack came after a select group of riders chased down a long solo attack from former teammate Gunnewijk (GreenEDGE-AIS). The former Dutch champion was two minutes clear as she crossed the top of the Orino climb for the penultimate time, with just over 25km to go, but was caught in the final lap.

“From the top, we still had about ten kilometres to the finish and because I was not given any times by the motorcycle, I kept riding full speed to the finish”, said Vos. “At one point, when I couldn’t see anyone behind me anymore, I knew all was well.”

“I won in a bunch sprint and in a sprint à deux the previous two times, so to be arriving solo on this third occasion makes this win really special,” she added.

Victory for Vos gives the World number one a 100% record in the World Cup so far, following her win in the Ronde van Drenthe two weeks before. She now has a commanding lead in the season-long competition, with 150 points, 88 points clear of Worrack and Emma Johansson (Hitec Products-Mistral Home), who both have 62.

A gentle start sees the peloton shrink but no successful attacks

After the peloton observed a minute’s silence in memory of Michele Silvestri, an Italian soldier who was killed yesterday in Afghanistan, the flat first half of the opening long circuit was ridden all together. The first intermediate sprint in Luino, on the shores of Lago Maggiore after 19.2km, was taken by Ursa Pintar (Solvenia), ahead of Sara Mustonen (Hitec Products-Mistral Home).

The long climb to Cunardo after 31.4km was taken by veteran Russian Svetlana Bubnenkova (RusVelo) at the head of the peloton; the increasing pace at the front though, meant that a large group was detached from the back, which was already 1’30” behind as the leaders crossed the finish line, after52.2km, to start the first of the four 17.3km laps.

On the climb to Orino, midway through the first lap, the peloton split further, with the first group of less than 80 riders some 38 seconds ahead of the second. Belarusian champion Alena Amialiusik (Be Pink) led over the top, ahead of Bubnekova and Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabobank).

Loes Gunnewijk finally jumps clear as the favourites all watch one another

The large group was all together as it crossed the line with three laps to go, but Gunnewijk attacked almost immediately and began to open up a lead. As the former Dutch champion crossed the top of the climb she was 30 seconds in the lead - with the chasing group led over by Elisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products-Mistral Home) and Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon) - and as she crossed the line with two laps to go she had increased her advantage to 1’09”.

Gunnewijk steadily increased her lead to 1’40” as she crossed the Orino climb for the penultimate time, with Marianne Vos (Rabobank) and Noemi Cantele (Be Pink) leading the chase.

After a series of attacks from Vos and Judith Arndt (GreenEDGE-AIS), a group of eleven riders broke away from the rest and began to make their way across to the lone leader.

The chase group was made up of: Vos, Annemiek van Vleuten and Pauline Ferrand Prevot (both Rabobank), Stevens, Arndt, Ashleigh Moolman (Lotto-Belisol), Cantele, Longo Borghini and Emma Johansson (Hitec Products-Mistral Home), Kristin Armstrong (United States) and Emma Pooley (AA

One Dutchwoman is caught as another escapes

Gradually the chasing ten reeled in Gunnewijk and, as she crossed the line to take the bell at the start of the final lap, the gap was just 14 seconds. As the Dutchwoman was caught, Vos attacked on the Orino climb and managed to get clear; she was initially followed by Stevens, but the American crashed on a bend as she fought to follow the Dutch champion’s wheel. Vos was ten seconds clear over the top, with Pooley leading the chase with Cantele and Ferrand Prevot right behind her.

With a strong chase from behind Vos was still not completely safe but, with 5km to go, she had managed to open up her lead to 22 seconds as the chase group began to split and riders managed to bridge from behind.

By the time she entered the uphill finishing straight Vos was more than 30 seconds clear and had plenty of time to sit up and celebrate with the usual large Cittiglio crowd. Guderzo attacked at the finish and opened up a gap over the chasers, with Worrack not quite able to close her down in time for the finish line.

“To receive Marianne Vos’ compliments during the press conference was hugely satisfying,” declared Mario Minervino, president of race organiser Cycling Sport Promotion, “but, from tomorrow, we will already start working for next year, to improve even more a race that keeps growing, thanks to the contribution of many groups and all the institutions. I would like to give a special thanks to [Italian Cycling Federation] Presidente Renato Di Rocco for his precious participation.”

Result Trofeo Alfredo Binda
1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women
2. Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini-Giambenini @ 34s
3. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized-lululemon
4. Judith Arndt (Ger) GreenEDGE-AIS
5. Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products-Mistral Home
6. Noemi Cantele (Ita) Be Pink
7. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Stichting Rabo Women
8. Emma Pooley (GBr) AA
9. Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne Futuroscope
10. Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) Lotto-Belisol @ 37s

World Cup standings after two rounds
1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women 150pts
2. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized-lululemon 62
3. Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products-Mistral Home 62
4. Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini-Giambenini 50
5. Kirsten Wild (Ned) AA 50


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC