Tour de Slovenie: Simone Ponzi grabs opening stage in 22 man sprint
  June 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Tour de Slovenie: Simone Ponzi grabs opening stage in 22 man sprint

by Ben Atkins at 7:18 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Italian wins crash-strewn stage as the peloton splits on the final climb

Simone PonziSimone Ponzi (Astana) won the opening leg of the Tour de Slovénie, between Celje and Novo Mesto, at the head of a 22-man peloton. The Italian was best at the end of the 152km stage, finishing ahead of Slovenian Marko Kump (Adria Mobil), and fellow Italian Daniele Ratto (Liquigas-Cannondale), as most of the peloton was left behind on the final climb of the day with just over 15km to go.

“I’m very happy,” said Ponzi afterwards. “I have a great feeling here [in Slovenia], because last year I won the one day Kranja Grand Prix.”

The stage was dominated by a two-man breakaway, as Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator) and Klemen Štimulak (Radenska) escaped at the first intermediate sprint, after just 9.8km. Over the first climb of the day, just 18km later, the duo led the peloton by 7’23”, but this began to come down as the Orica-GreenEdge team took control of the peloton.

Over the next climb, after 70.8km, the duo’s lead was down to 4’40”. It briefly rose back up to five minutes, but steadily came down as the closing kilometres approached. Unfortunately, the stage was punctuated by a series of crashes, which saw the abandon of a number of riders, including Lucas Sebastian Heado (Saxo Bank), who was taken to hospital, and Oba Kristjana (Adria Mobil), who suffered a fractured collarbone.

Shortly after the intermediate sprint in Ratež with just over 25km to go, Van Hecke and Štimulak were finally caught. On the climb that followed, the Liquigas-Cannondale, Astana, and Adria Mobil teams managed to force a split in the peloton that saw 22 riders escape to contest the finish.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

Tour de Slovenie (2.1) Stage 1 Result: Celje to Novo Mesto, 152 km:

  Click on the arrowsat the top of the column to sort the race results.
Country Result Name Team Time
ita ITA 1 Simone Ponzi (Astana Pro Team) 03:46:28
slo SLO 2 Marko Kump (Adria Mobil) s.t.
ita ITA 3 Daniele Ratto (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 4 Francesco Reda (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
slo SLO 5 Kristjan Koren (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 6 Aristide Ratti (Team Idea) s.t.
bel BEL 7 Pieter Serry (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
aus AUS 8 David Tanner (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
ita ITA 9 Giuseppe De Maria (Team Idea) s.t.
ita ITA 10 Francesco Failli (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
por POR 11 Bruno Manuel Silva Pires (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
ita ITA 12 Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 13 Fabio Taborre (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
ita ITA 14 Diego Ulissi (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
ita ITA 15 Damiano Caruso (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
slo SLO 16 Janez Brajkovic (Astana Pro Team) s.t.
col COL 17 Winner Andrew Anacona Gomez (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
slo SLO 18 Jure Golcer (Tyrol Team) s.t.
pol POL 19 Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 20 Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
slo SLO 21 Tomaz Nose (Adria Mobil) s.t.
bel BEL 22 Kevin Seeldraeyers (Astana Pro Team) 00:00:07
ita ITA 23 Andrea Pasqualon (Colnago CSF Bardiani) 00:00:14
slo SLO 24 Luka Mezgec (Sava) s.t.
bel BEL 25 Tim Declercq (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
bel BEL 26 Arthur Vanoverberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
slo SLO 27 Jan Polanc (Radenska) s.t.
den DEN 28 Mads Christensen (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
ita ITA 29 Marco Frapporti (Team Idea) s.t.
bel BEL 30 Kevin De Jonghe (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
ukr UKR 31 Vitaliy Buts (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
bra BRA 32 Rafael Andriato De Mattas (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
ita ITA 33 Alan Marangoni (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 34 Danilo Di Luca (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
ita ITA 35 Christian Cominelli (Team Idea) s.t.
ita ITA 36 Daniele Righi (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
ita ITA 37 Matteo Rabottini (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
den DEN 38 Anders Lund (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
cro CRO 39 Vladimir Miholjevic (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
bel BEL 40 Kenny De Ketele (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
ita ITA 41 Adriano Malori (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
ita ITA 42 Alessandro Bisolti (Team Idea) s.t.
ger GER 43 Dominik Nerz (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
bel BEL 44 Sander Armee (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
slo SLO 45 Matej Mugerli (Adria Mobil) s.t.
aut AUT 46 Harald Totschnig (Tyrol Team) s.t.
ita ITA 47 Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
ita ITA 48 Omar Lombardi (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
ita ITA 49 Luca Dodi (Team Idea) s.t.
slo SLO 50 Vladimir Kerkez (Sava) s.t.
cro CRO 51 Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil) s.t.
slo SLO 52 Borut Bozic (Astana Pro Team) s.t.
ita ITA 53 Alessandro Spezialetti (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
ita ITA 54 Enrico Battaglin (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
ita ITA 55 Andrea Di Corrado (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
rsa RSA 56 Daryl Impey (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
aus AUS 57 Matthew Goss (Orica - GreenEDGE) 00:00:39
ita ITA 58 Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) 00:01:04
ita ITA 59 Paolo Ciavatta (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
ukr UKR 60 Dmytro Krivtsov (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
ukr UKR 61 Oleksandr Kvachuk (Lampre - ISD) s.t.
slo SLO 62 Luka Pibernik (Radenska) s.t.
ned NED 63 Jens Mouris (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
svk SVK 64 Juraj Sagan (Liquigas - Cannondale) s.t.
ita ITA 65 Marco Canola (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
aut AUT 66 Christoph Sokoll (Tyrol Team) s.t.
slo SLO 67 Jaka Bostner (Radenska) s.t.
slo SLO 68 Jan Tratnik (Radenska) s.t.
ita ITA 69 Luca Barla (Team Idea) s.t.
rus RUS 70 Evgeni Petrov (Astana Pro Team) s.t.
ita ITA 71 Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
bel BEL 72 Kevin Hulsmans (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
slo SLO 73 Marko Pavlic (Radenska) 00:04:19
slo SLO 74 Simon Pavlin (Adria Mobil) 00:04:24
aut AUT 75 Stefan Praxmarer (Tyrol Team) s.t.
pol POL 76 Rafal Majka (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
ita ITA 77 Luca Ascani (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
slo SLO 78 Matej Gnezda (Adria Mobil) s.t.
slo SLO 79 Robert Jenko (Radenska) s.t.
isr ISR 80 Ran Margaliot (Team Saxo Bank) s.t.
aut AUT 81 Mario Schoibl (Tyrol Team) s.t.
slo SLO 82 Jure Bitenc (Sava) s.t.
ita ITA 83 Diego Caccia (Farnese Vini - Selle Italia) s.t.
slo SLO 84 Tim Mikelj (Sava) s.t.
slo SLO 85 Mark Dzamastagic (Sava) s.t.
ita ITA 86 Claudio Corioni (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
ita ITA 87 Alessandro Donati (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
ita ITA 88 Danilo Napolitano (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
aut AUT 89 Marc Obkircher (Tyrol Team) 00:06:30
aut AUT 90 Martin Weiss (Tyrol Team) s.t.
aut AUT 91 Maximilian Kuen (Tyrol Team) s.t.
bel BEL 92 Steven Van Vooren (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) 00:07:37
bel BEL 93 Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator) s.t.
slo SLO 94 Klement Stimulak (Radenska) s.t.
slo SLO 95 Andrej Rajsp (Radenska) s.t.
ita ITA 96 Paolo Locatelli (Colnago CSF Bardiani) s.t.
uzb UZB 97 Ruslan Karimov (Team Idea) s.t.
nzl NZL 98 Sam Bewley (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
aus AUS 99 Brett Lancaster (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
slo SLO 100 Ziga Marolt (Sava) s.t.
aus AUS 101 Travis Meyer (Orica - GreenEDGE) 00:09:07
aus AUS 102 Mitchell Docker (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
aus AUS 103 Michael Hepburn (Orica - GreenEDGE) s.t.
rus RUS DNF Egor Silin (Astana Pro Team)  
cro CRO DNF Kristijan Durasek (Adria Mobil)  
slo SLO DNF Kristjan Fajt (Adria Mobil)  
arg ARG DNF Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Team Saxo Bank)  

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC