Trofimov wins second stage of Basque tour
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Trofimov wins second stage of Basque tour

by Agence France-Presse at 3:11 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Russian Yuri Trofimov team won the second stage of the Tour of the Basque Country, launching an attack with two kilometres to go to beat Estonia's Rein Taaramae on Tuesday.

Spain's Luis Leon Sanchez remained the overall leader of the event after winning Monday's first stage.

Trofimov, of the Bouygues Telecom team, covered the 164 kilometres from Ataun to Villatuerta in four hours, 12 minutes and 45 seconds, some five seconds ahead of Taaramae, who rides for Cofidis.

With some 25 kilometres to the finish, the pair held a lead of more than three minutes over the peloton.

But the Russian launched an attack in the final two kilometres of the stage, which included six mountain climbs, to which Taaramae could not respond.

The peloton, including Sanchez, who won the Paris-Nice race last month, was more than a minute further back.

Wednesday's stage takes the riders 172.5 kilometres from Villatuerta to Eibar.

Results of the Tour of the Basque Country following Tuesday's second stage, a 164km ride from Ataun to here:

1. Yury Trofimov (RUS/BTL) 4hr 12min 45sec
2. Rein Taaramae (EST/COF) at 5sec
3. Ben Swift (ENG/KAT) 1min 10sec
4. Michael Albasini (SUI/THR) 1:10
5. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/GCE) 1:10
6. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/LAM) 1:10
7. Fabian Wegmann (GER/MRM) 1:10
8. Allan Davis (AUS/QST) 1:10
9. Alexandre Kolobnev (RUS/SAX) 1:10
10. Manuele Mori (ITA/LAM) 1:10.

1. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/GCE) 7hr 42min 39sec
2. Alexandre Kolobnev (RUS/SAX) same time
3. Jerome Pineau (FRA/QST)
4. Christian Knees (GER/MRM)
5. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/EUS)
6. Michael Rogers (AUS/THR)
7. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/LIQ)
8. Egoi Martinez (ESP/EUS)
9. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/LIQ)
10. Alberto Contador (ESP/AST) all same time

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC