Olympic Time Trial start times and numbers announced
  May 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Olympic Time Trial start times and numbers announced

by Ben Atkins at 2:46 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Olympics
Defending champions Cancellara and Armstrong off last in seeded order of departure

london 2012London 2012 organisers have released details of the start numbers and times of the riders in tomorrow’s Olympic time trial. The Men’s and Women’s races will be both run on the same day, with Brazil’s Clemilda Fernandes Silva getting proceedings under way at 12:30 British Summer time, and the rest following at 90 second intervals.

The men’s race will start at 14:15, with Morocco’s Mouhcine Lahsaini the first to start, and they too will go off every minute and a half.

The women’s field is made up of 24 riders - one short of the maximum 25 places allocated - due to the withdrawal of Lithuanian Rasa Leleivyte, who tested positive for EPO in the week before the games. The men’s field is also short, with 37 instead of the maximum 40, with Argentina’s Maximiliano Richeze, Turkey’s Ahmet Akdylek, and Australia’s 2011 Tour de France champion Cadel Evans all no shows, despite all three riding - and finishing - Saturday’s road race.

As expected, defending champions Kristin Armstrong (United States) and Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) will both wear number one in the race, and have the honour of starting last.

With the riders seeded according to ranking and expected performance, both riders will have the faster competitors ahead of them, making the prospect of one rider catching another relatively unlikely - pending mechanical incidents and crashes - in the later stages.

Armstrong will set off at 13:04.30, while Cancellara will start at 15:09 exactly

Elite Women
24. Clemilda Fernandes Silva (Brazil)
23. Pia Sundstedt (Finland)
22. Liesbet De Vocht (Belgium)
21. Ashleigh Moolman (South Africa)
20. Audrey Cordon (France)
19. Tatiana Antoshina (Russia)
18. Elena Tchalykh (Azerbaijan)
17. Tatiana Guderzo (Italy)
16. Denise Ramsden (Canada)
15. Olga Zabelinskaya (Russia)
14. Emilia Fahlin (Sweden)
13. Trixi Worrack (Germany)
12. Noemi Cantele (Italy)
11. Shara Gillow (Australia)
10. Ellen Van Dijk (Netherlands)
9. Elizabeth Armitstead (Great Britain)
8. Emma Johansson (Sweden)
7. Amber Neben (United States)
6. Emma Pooley (Great Britain)
5. Clara Hughes (Canada)
4. Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)
3. Marianne Vos (Netherlands)
2. Judith Arndt (Germany)
1. Kristin Armstrong (United States)

Elite Men
37. Mouhcine Lahsaini (Morocco)
36. Tomas Gil Martinez (Venezuela)
34. Ahmet Akdilek (Iran)
33. Magno Prado Nazaret (Brazil)
32. Fumiyuki Beppu (Japan)
31. Assan Bazayev (Kazakhstan)
30. David McCann (Ireland)
29. Lars Ytting Bak (Denmark)
28. Michael Albasini (Switzerland)
27. Fabio Andres Duarte (Colombia)
26. Lars Boom (Netherlands)
25. Jack Bauer (New Zealand)
24. Janez Brajkovič (Slovenia)
23. Maciej Bodnar (Poland)
22. Philippe Gilbert (Belgium)
21. Alexandr Vinokourov (Kazakhstan)
20. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada)
19. Jonathan Castoviejo (Spain)
18. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark)
17. Nelson Oliveira (Portugal)
16. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
15. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania)
14. Denis Menchov (Russia)
13. Lieuwe Westra (Netherlands)
12. Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus)
11. Gustav Larsson (Sweden)
10. Michael Rogers (Australia)
9. Bert Grabsch (Germany)
8. Sylvain Chavanel (France)
7. Christopher Froome (Great Britain)
6. Marco Pinotti (Italy)
5. Luis León Sánchez (Spain)
4 Taylor Phinney (United States)
3. Tony Martin (Germany)
2. Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)
1. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC