Astana takes control in the Giro del Trentino
  June 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Astana takes control in the Giro del Trentino

by VeloNation Press at 2:23 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

German Andreas Kloden and his teammate Janez Brajkovic gave Astana made a one two finish in the Giro del Trentino's first stage individual time-trial from Torbole to Arco (16.3km). Kloden clocked a winning time of 18’21” with an average speed of 53.29km/h. Coming in thrid place was Andryi Grivko (ISD), 8” behind the winner.

Today’s time-trial was everything but a short opening prologue. Thanks to a 16.3km route, all the riders had a chance to test their condition and the final result is very important.

“I’m very happy with this victory. I don’t know my condition on the mountains. I will think about the race day by day. Trentino is only four days but it’s a hard race with an opening time-trial. After this race I will end part one of my season and will start training for our main goal, the Tour de France”, Kloden said.

Liquigas rider Ivan Basso was not happy with his 19th place having lost 50” to Kloden. Some of the big names for the Giro d’Italia also had bad performances with Gilberto Simoni at 1’17” and Danilo Di Luca at 1’23”. Danilo Di Luca was late to the starting gate which cost him a delay of 8”.

Starting from tomorrow, the mountains will be the main protagonists of the Giro del Trentino. The second stage will end up on Alpe di Pampeago mountain: one of the most difficult and famous climbs in the professional cycling, where the likes of Marco Pantani have shown their prowess.

Tomorrow’s second stage will start from Riva del Garda and and will end in Pampeago after 141km. The start is fixed at 11,30 am, whilst the finish is expected at 3,00pm.

First stage classification (Torbole-Arco, crono individuale, km 16,3):

1. Andreas Kloden (Ger, Astana) 18’21”10, media kmh 53,292; 2. Janez Brajkovic (Astana, Slo) a 1”; 3. Andry Grivko (Ukr, Isd) a 8”; 4. Branislau Samoilau (Blr, Amica Chips) a 9”; 5. Gabriele Bosisio (Ita, LPR) a 9”; 6. Giovanni Visconti (Itsa, ISD) a 22; 7. Leonardo bertagnolli (Ita, Amica Chips) a 25”; 8. Stefano Garzelli (Ita, Acqua&Sapone) a 27”; 9. Bartosz Huzarski (Pol, ISD) a 30”; 10. Luca Celli (Ita, Diquigiovanni) a 34”.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC