Giro Toscana: Malgorzata Jasinska confirms overall title after chaotic final stage
  June 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Giro Toscana: Malgorzata Jasinska confirms overall title after chaotic final stage

by Ben Atkins at 2:51 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Diadora-Pasta Zara takes final two stages; signs go missing in Florence finale

malgorzata jasinskaMalgorzata Jasinska (MCipollini-Giambenini) confirmed her final overall victory in the Premondiale Giro Toscana-Memorial Michela Fanini as she finished with the front group in the final two stages. Both were taken by Diadora-Pasta Zara riders, with Lithuanian champion Inga Cilvinaite winning the sprint from a group of 17 on stage three, and World champion Giorgia Bronzini taking her second stage of the race, in a bunch sprint in the race’s Florence finale.

The hilly 109km third stage, between Segromigno in Piano and Capannori saw the peloton stay together over the four 18.6km laps, based on the 2nd category climb to Segromigno in Monte. On the final loop over the 1st category climb to Valgiano however, Fabiana Luperini (Faren-Honda) accelerated, and Jasinska went with her; 2011 race winner Megan Guarnier (Tibco-To The Top) followed, along with prologue winner Annemiek van Vleuten (Rabobank), and Natalia Boyarskaya (RusVelo).

The peloton fragmented behind this group, with 17 riders breaking clear to contest the finish. Cilvinaite, was the fastest in the sprint, ahead of Guarnier, with 2008 World and Olympic champion Nicole Cooke (Faren-Honda) third.

The fourth and final stage between Lucca and Florence was almost cancelled in its second half as direction arrows taken from the course saw the peloton misdirected. The problem was rectified however but, with only ten kilometres left in the stage, it was too late for anything other than a bunch sprint; which would likely have happened anyway.

Bronzini was the fastest of the bunch again, taking her second stage of the race, ahead of van Vleuten and Specialized-lululemon rider Lisa Brennauer, riding for the German national team.

Jasinska was safely in the peloton behind the World champion and comfortably won the 2012 edition of the race created by the father of the late 1994 Giro Donne winner Michela Fanini, who was tragically killed while out training at the age of just 21.

“This jersey is a very important, highly desired and sought after one,” said MCipollini-Giambenini directeur sportif Luisana Pegoraro. “It could be divided into six parts; one for each girl, because every girl has played their part, in all stages, especially yesterday and today when we were able to control the race.

“This is a prestigious result that fills us with pride.”

Result stage 3
1. Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Diadora-Pasta Zara
2. Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco-To The Top
3. Nicole Cooke (GBr) Faren-Honda
4. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Stichting Rabobank
5. Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
6. Sabrina Stultiëns (Ned) Stichting Rabobank
7. Romy Kasper (Ger) RusVelo
8. Lauren Hall (USA) Tibco-To The Top
9. Flavia Oliveira (Bra) Forno d’Asolo-Colavita
10. Jennifer Fiori (Ita) Fassa Bortolo-Servetti

Result stage 4
1. Giogia Bronzini (Ita) Diadora-Pasta Zara
2. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Stichting Rabobank
3. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) German National Team
4. Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco-To The Top
5. Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) MCipollini-Giambenini
6. Rossella Ratto (Ita) Verinlegno-Fabiani

Final overall standings
1. Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) MCipollini-Giambenini
2. Lauren Hall (USA) Tibco-To The Top @ 49s
3. Romy Kasper (Ger) RusVelo @ 1’32”
4. Valentina Bastianelli (Ita) Vaiano-Tepso @ 2’06”
5. Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco-To The Top @ 2’59”
6. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Stichting Rabobank @ 3’07”
7. Rossella Ratto (Ita) Verinlegno-Fabiani @ 3’17”


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC