Zach Bell beats WorldTour competition in Québec Challenge Sprint Pro
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, September 7, 2012

Zach Bell beats WorldTour competition in Québec Challenge Sprint Pro

by Xylon van Eyck at 4:32 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Rémi Pelletier-Roy makes it a one-two for the Canadian boys

zach bellZach Bell gave Team SpiderTech powered by C10 a boost by winning the Challenge Sprint Pro in Québec. The race was a warm up event for the sprinters where each team elected a representative from the 24 teams taking part in the Canadian WorldTour races Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and Montreal.

Bell, who had recently finished seventh in the omnium race at the London Olympic Games, outsprinted some big names in the sport to make the final and then take top honours.

The 1km long four man sprint saw Bell beat compatriot Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Canadian National Team) to make it a one-two finish for the local boys.

“You had to push it to the whole [time] in front of a tough field. To come here in front of such a great crowd in such a fine setting is just brilliant,” said Bell.

“If Challenge Sprint Pro becomes a regular thing, for me it’s obviously a good race.”

It was a satisfactory ride for Pelletier-Roy who last year made the semi-finals but this year did not only reach the final but finished second ahead of ProTeam competition in Matt Goss (Orica-GreenEdge) and Michael Matthews (Rabobank).

Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec, a 201-km circuit race through downtown Quebec City takes place today while Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal is on Sunday. Last year’s races were won by Philippe Gilbert and Rui Costa, respectively.

This year, local boy and Giro d’Italia winner Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) will wear number one. Other favourites include Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Sharp), Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) and Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale).

Result Challenge Sprint Pro
1. Zach Bell (Can) Spidertech presented by C10
2. Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Can) Canadian National Team
3. Matt Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
4. Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC