Milram for Eschborn-Frankfurt City Loop
  May 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Milram for Eschborn-Frankfurt City Loop

by VeloNation Press at 7:14 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Press Release

Team Milram is going to the start of the Eschborn-Frankfurt City Loop (May1/UCI Category 1.HC) with big ambitions. The traditional one-day race over 190.8 kilometers through the Frankfurt area presents a new name and a slightly changed course. These don't affect the hopes of the Dortmund-based team for success in its first race of the year in Germany. Led by its two captains, Linus Gerdemann and Gerald Ciolek, the team will also look to Fabian Wegmann, Christian Knees, Johannes Fröhlinger, Matthias Ruß, Peter Velits and Peter Wrolich to help it win.

"Our goal is clear: We want to be as successful as possible in this race," said Milram captain Linus Gerdemann. "This race is our top priority. It is our first chance this year to present ourselves to the German fans in our homeland. I think that the fans deserved a top performance from all of us."

In order to be as fully prepared for the German race as possible, the two Milram captains, along with allrounder Christian Knees, who is riding well this season, inspected the decisive portions of the course on Monday. "The course hasn't changed a lot, and is good for us. The finish is slightly climbing and, depending on the race situation, could be something for me," said Gerald Ciolek, looking forward to Friday's race.

The Eschborn-Frankfurt City Loop is the follow-up race to Rund um den Henninger Turm, and is one of the most important German one-day races. The record holder in the traditional race is ex-Milram rider Erik Zabel, who won in 1999, 2002, and 2005. Six other Germans have won the race, which has been carried out since 1962: Hennes Junkermann (1963), Rudi Altig (1970), Gregor Braun (1978), Olaf Ludwig (1994), Kai Hundertmarck (2000) and Patrik Sinkewitz (2007).

The Milram line-up: Gerald Ciolek (GER/Ermatingen,SUI), Johannes Fröhlinger (GER/Freiburg im Breisgau), Linus Gerdemann (GER/Kreuzlingen,SUI), Christian Knees (GER/Euskirchen), Matthias Ruß (GER/Oberried), Peter Velits (SVK/Riemst,BEL), Fabian Wegmann (GER/Freiburg im Breisgau), Peter Wrolich (AUT/Klagenfurt)

Directeur Sportif: Christian Henn (GER)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC