Nicki Sørensen gets first victory in GP Beghelli
  December 10, 2023 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Nicki Sørensen gets first victory in GP Beghelli

by Kyle Moore at 8:36 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Dane nets lone win of 2012 in final Italian road race of the season

Nicki SorensenNicki Sørensen (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) got his first victory of 2012 in Italy’s final road race of the season on Sunday, in the GP Bruno Beghelli. Sørensen added the first triumph to his career tally since the Danish national road race last year, and his first victory outside Danish soil since his Tour de France stage win in 2009.

Saxo-Tinkoff proved to have one of the strongest squads at the race, attacking and counter attacking with several riders, until Sørensen sprung the winning move out of a four man group that had jumped clear on the last ascent of the Zappolino climb.

Tour de France most aggressive rider Chris Anker Sørensen was active for the Danish squad, which also utilized Bruno Pires.

“It was a wonderful team victory,” said team manager Fabrizio Guidi. “Everyone on the team participated with dedication and they tenaciously fought until the end of the day. First Bruno (Pires) went away, then Chris and Nicki launched a deadly counter-attack with four kilometres to go and no one was able to hold their pace. It’s obviously a fantastic way for us to end the season and I couldn’t be happier for the team, and especially for Nicki.”

Sørensen finished 12 seconds ahead of podium finishers Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) and Matteo Rabottini (Farnese Vini-Selle Italia), with whom he had escaped.

After finishing both the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España this year as a valued domestique, with the Saxo-Tinkoff organization his entire career, Sørensen was elated to have capped off his season at the top of a podium.

“It was the perfect closure to the season,” he stated. “The whole team did an amazing job out there throughout the race and in the finale when the four of us created the gap, my teammates were there to make sure any new moves from the field were neutralized.”

“In the final kilometers, we took turns attacking each other and I knew that Rabottini was the strongest rival, but when I finally jumped away, I knew that they couldn't close the gap. Of course, it provides me with a feeling of great satisfaction to finish off the season like this.”

Sørensen’s win broke a streak of two consecutive Italian winners [Filippo Pozzato and Dario Cataldo] of the GP Beghelli, as well as five in the last six years. The 37-year-old received accolades from past and present team-mates on Twitter after the race.

From Richie Porte: “Congrats to Nicki Sørensen on his win in Beghelli. One of the most quiet champions in the peloton.”

Sørensen’s Israeli team-mate Ran Margaliot started but did not finish the race. “What a way to end up a season. No one deserves this win more than Nicki Sorensen! I was off rhythm but still truly happy for him,” he wrote afterward.

And Sørensen’s former CSC team-mate Tyler Hamilton weighed in as well: “Congrats to Nicki Sorensen for his big win at the Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli,” the American tweeted.

Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli - Brief Results:

1 Nicki Sørensen (Den) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank
2 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli at 12s
3 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia
4 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox
6 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale at 17s
7 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
8 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli
9 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox
10 Andrea Palini (Ita) Team Idea


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC