RadioShack-Nissan roster taking shape for 2013, Frank Schleck remains on board for now
  December 10, 2023 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

RadioShack-Nissan roster taking shape for 2013, Frank Schleck remains on board for now

by Xylon van Eyck at 5:15 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Gerdemann, Bennati, Fuglsang amongst those leaving team

Frank SchleckThe Frank Schleck case is still to be settled but as things stand, RadioShack-Nissan will start next season with 28 riders on its books, according to The team has made subtle changes to its roster with the biggest probably coming at management level. Luca Guercilena has taken over as team manager in the wake of Johan Bruyneel’s departure under the Lance Armstrong doping cloud.

New additions to the team include Stijn Devolder (Vacansoleil-DCM), 38 year old Danilo Hondo (Lampre), and Robert Kiserlovski (Astana). Promising Luxembourg talent Bob Jungels steps up from the feeder team, Leopard Trek, to turn professional.

He is regarded as one of the most exciting young talents in the sport and his debut will be of interest to many.

Some riders have not been offered contract renewals, such as former Tour de France yellow jersey wearer Linus Gerdemann. It is not yet known if the German has found a replacement team.

Daniele Bennati and Oliver Zaugg are off to Saxo Bank Tinkoff Bank while Jakob Fuglsang takes up a leadership role at Astana. Joost Posthuma yesterday announced his retirement from the sport after the team didn’t extend his contract, while Robert Wagner moves to what has been known previously as Rabobank.

The team will either compete as a ‘white label’ squad, using settlement money from the Rabobank sponsors, or alternatively will be under the title of a new backer. A team spokesman confirmed to VeloNation recently that negotiations are ongoing.

As for Fränk Schleck, he returned a positive test at this year’s Tour and his case is still ongoing. An announcement is expected soon from the Luxembourg federation and should he be banned, this could see his name removed from the 28 rider list.

Of those who are remaining, both Fabian Cancellara and 2010 Tour de France winner Andy Schleck will hope for better seasons than in 2012. Cancellara crashed heavily in the Ronde van Vlaanderen and the Olympic road race, missing out on some big results because of that, but did manage to win the Tour de France prologue, the national TT championships, Strade Bianche and a stage of Tirreno-Adriatico. He was rumoured to be trying to leave the team but with an ongoing contract in place, he will compete there in 2013.

Schleck had a big spill in the Critérium du Dauphiné time trial and fractured his pelvis. He struggled for several months after that but returned to racing before the end of the season.

The list of those who are also staying on board includes Jens Voigt, Andreas Klöden and Chris Horner.

RadioShack Nissan 2013 Roster:

Fabian Cancellara, Jan Bakelants, George Bennett, Matthew Busche, Laurent Didier, Tony Gallopin, Ben Hermans, Chris Horner, Markel Irizar, Benjamin King, Andreas Klöden, Tiago Machado, Maxime Monfort, Giacomo Nizzolo, Nelson Oliveira, Yaroslav Popovych, Grégory Rast, Hayden Roulston, Thomas Rohregger, Jesse Sergent, Andy Schleck, Fränk Schleck, Jens Voigt, Haimar Zubeldia.

New Riders:

Stijn Devolder (Vacansoleil), Danilo Hondo (Lampre), Bob Jungels (Leopard-Trek), Robert Kiserlovski (Astana)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC