I'll take the apple cobbler, please - Phinney strikes in U23 Roubaix
  April 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, May 31, 2009

I'll take the apple cobbler, please - Phinney strikes in U23 Roubaix

by Steve Jones at 8:37 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Spring Classics, Race Reports and Results, Paris-Roubaix
Trek-Livestrong rider Taylor Phinney carved another little slice in the history books today becoming the first American rider to win Paris-Roubaix Espoirs.

The storied cobblestones of Northern France have long been the subject of a love-hate relationship with cyclists - since 1896 to be precise - with no middle ground to be found. The Under-23 version of the race takes place over 170km and finishes in the same velodrome used in Paris-Roubaix.

Phinney took the win out of a group of 11 that entered the velodrome together. With 3 riders in the group Team Capinordic tried to take control of the race, but the 18-year-old Phinney had other ideas attacking with half a lap remaining for the win.

With his victory, Phinney joins the likes of Thor Hushovd, Marc Madiot, Yaroslav Popovych, and Stephen Roche - all riders that have added the race to their palmares as they began their careers. Mark Madiot is the only cyclist to also win the "Queen of the Classics" as a professional.

On his Twitter page Phinney posted, "How do you like them apples??" - a phrase made famous in cycling 10 years earlier by Lance Armstrong as he shattered his critics and rivals alike up the climb to Sestriere. Arguably, that moment was the beginning of his seven year reign over the Tour de France - giving him the confidence he needed to dominate his competition.

Phinney is just beginning his career under the tutelage of Axel Merckyx and Armstrong himself, and with parents that are part of cycling history the possibilities are...well, as he puts it, "F***ing beautiful."

1. Taylor Phinney (USA) Trek Livestrong in 4hrs28mins42secs (37.96 km/h)
2. Nikola Aistrup (Den) Team Capinordic
3. Giorgio Brambilla (Ita) De Nardi Bergamasca
4. Massimo Graziato (Ita) Team Parolin Bottoli Nordelettrica
5. Jelle Wallays (Bel) Bevern 2000
6. Jean-Lou Paiani (Fra) Comite Rhone Alpes
7. Clinton Avery (Bel) PWS Eijssen
8. Angelo Pagani (Ita) Team Parolin Bottoli Nordelettrica
9. Ronan Van Zandbeek (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof at .03
10. Thomas Guldhammer (Den) Team Capinordic at .03
11. Thomas Sellebjerg (Den) Team Capinordic at 00:07"

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC