Tour of California announces names for Women’s Invitational Time Trial
  February 26, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, March 18, 2013

Tour of California announces names for Women’s Invitational Time Trial

by Ben Atkins at 2:39 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of California
US champion Amber Neben and Worlds silver medalist Evie Stevens head 15-rider list

evie stevensThe organiser of the Amgen Tour of California, AEG Sports, has announced the list of riders that have been selected to ride this year’s third edition of its Women’s Time Trial Race, in San Jose on May 17th. The first two editions of the event, which is run on the same course, and the same day, as the time trial stage of the eight-day men’s stage race, were won by two-time Olympic champion Kristin Armstrong; with the 39-year-old having retired immediately after the London 2012 Games, however, she will not be present for a third time.

“As the largest stage race in the country, the Amgen Tour of California provides a unique opportunity to highlight the many facets of cycling,” said Kristin Bachochin, executive director of the race and senior vice president of AEG Sports. “We are honoured to host another worldwide showcase for the best women in the sport today, and to provide even more depth and thrills for the millions of fans who will tune in that week.”

The list comprises just 15, US-based riders, and is topped by US champion Amber Neben (Pasta Zara-Cogeas) - who finished a close second to Armstrong in the 2011 edition - and World championship silver medallist Evie Stevens (Specialized-lululemon).

The one North American cyclist invited is German sprinter Ina Teutenberg (Specialized-lululemon); Teutenberg and teammate Stevens may not be in top form for the event, however, with both suffering serious crashes in recent races. Teutenberg suffered concussion in the Drentse 8 race on March 7th, and has elected to take some time away from racing while she recovers, while Stevens suffered facial injuries - including the loss of some teeth - in the GP Città di Padova on Saturday.

Leading the challengers will be US national bronze medallist Alison Powers and teammate Robin Farina - as well as the returning 2010 Giro Donne winner Mara Abbott (all NOW and Novartis for MS), and fifth and sixth place Alison Tetrick and Kristin McGrath (Exergy-Twenty16). Optum Pro Cycling will be represented by Jade Wilcoxson and Brianne Walle, while Tibco-To The Top will be represented by Meredith Miller and Canadian Jasmin Glaesser.

The non-American with possibly the best chance of upsetting the local riders is Canadian national silver medallist Rhae Shaw (Vanderkitten), while alternative disciplines will be represented by British triathlete Julie Dibens and US cyclocross champion Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective).

Amgen Tour of California Women’s Time Trial Race (May 17th) Invited Riders

Exergy Twenty16: Alison Tetrick (USA), Mara Abbott (USA) and Kristin McGrath (USA)
NOW and Novartis for MS: Alison Powers (USA) and Robin Farina (USA)
Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies: Jade Wilcoxson (USA) and Brianna Walle (USA)
Specialized-lululemon: Evelyn Stevens (USA) and Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (GER)
TIBCO: Jasmin Glaesser (CAN) and Meredith Miller (USA)
Vanderkitten: Rhae Shaw (CAN)
Katie Compton (USA)
Amber Neben (USA)
Julie Dibens (GBR)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC