Women’s World Cup: Elisa Longo Borghini soloes through the rain to take the Trofeo Binda
  August 05, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Women’s World Cup: Elisa Longo Borghini soloes through the rain to take the Trofeo Binda

by Ben Atkins at 9:19 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Hitec Products rider escapes on a descent to become first Italian winner of Cittiglio World Cup

elisa longo borghiniElisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products) escaped the peloton with just over 25km to go in the Trofeo Alfredo Binda, the second round of the 2013 Women’s Road World Cup, to take a solo victory in the pouring rain of Cittiglio, Italy. The 21-year-old World championship silver medallist slipped away, along with Amanda Spratt (Orica-AIS) on the descent of the Orino climb during the second of four 17km closing circuits; she then rode away from the former Australian champion on the climb during the following lap, before riding alone to become the first Italian winner of the race since it became part of the World Cup in 2008.

Swedish champion Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) and Ellen van Dijk (Specialized-lululemon) managed to bridge across to Johansson’s teammate Spratt in the closing kilometres, but were unable to make any progress on Longo Borghini. Johansson took the sprint for second place, ahead of van Dijk and Spratt, 1’41” behind the Italian.

“I am not the best in the sprint, I am not the best in the mountains, but I was strong today and this is how I won,” said Longo Borghini after the race. “This is a big step for my career and shows the big improvement in Italian women’s cycling.”

Chantal Blaak (Tibco-To The Top) managed to outsprint Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv/Giant) in the race for fifth, after 2’21”, but the World and Olympic champion secured enough points to hold on to her lead in the overall World Cup classification.

Setting out from Laveno Mombello on the banks of Lake Maggiore in heavy rain, the opening 52km circuit saw a four-rider breakaway from South African champion Ashleigh Moolman (Lotto-Belisol), Jessie Daams (Boels-Dolmans), Shara Gillow (Orica-AIS), and Karol An Canuel (Vienne Futuroscope). Vos’ Rabobank-Liv/Giant team was not prepared to allow such strong riders to get too far ahead, however, and they were able to get little more than a minute clear before being pulled back.

After 73km, with little more than two and a half laps of the 17km circuit remaining, the peloton was all together again.

Following the climb to Orino, which came shortly after the circuit’s midpoint, Moolman tried to escape with Spratt on the descent. The two riders were pulled back again but, when Longo Borghini and Spratt tried again, they successfully managed to pull away from the peloton.

Having built up a lead of more than a minute over the peloton on the approach to the Orino for the penultimate climb, Longo Borghini accelerated and left Spratt behind. The Italian was 10 seconds ahead as she reached the top - with the peloton now at 1’20” - and began to increase her lead further on the way down towards the finish line.

The final lap saw Longo Borghini increase her lead further, while Spratt was gradually being pulled back by the peloton. The late attack from Johansson and van Dijk bridged across to the Australian, who was dropped by the other two as they sprinted up the finishing drag, but Johansson was 1’44” behind Longo Borghini as she took second place.

1. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products
2. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS @ 1’44”
3. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon
4. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS @ 1’51”
5. Chantal Blaak (Ned) Team Tibco-To The Top @ 2’21”
6. Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-Liv/Giant
7. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Rabobank-Liv/Giant
8. Rossella Ratto (Ita) Hitec Products
9. Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
10. Carmen Small (USA) Specialized-lululemon

World Cup standings after two rounds
1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-Liv/Giant 99pts
2. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS 85
3. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon 85
4. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products 75
5. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS 30


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC