Tetyana Riabchenko is a shock winner of Chongming World Cup as peloton misdirected
  September 16, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Tetyana Riabchenko is a shock winner of Chongming World Cup as peloton misdirected

by Ben Atkins at 8:41 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Giorgia Bronzini wins sprint for second as race ends in farce

Tetyana RiabchenkoTetyana Riabchenko (Chirio Forno d’Asolo) was a shock winner of the Tour of Chongming Island World Cup race as the chasing peloton was misdirected in the final kilometres. The former Ukrainian had broken away alone with 15km to go and was being steadily reeled in by the peloton, but the leading race moto took the bunch down the left side of a central reservation when the course went right.

By the time the peloton had rejoined the course and got up to speed again Riabchenko had built up what was to be a winning lead. Despite the renewed chase from Orica-AIS and Wiggle Honda the Ukrainian managed to stay away and take a solo victory.

Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) comfortably won the bunch sprint to take second place, with Amy Pieters (Argos-Shimano) beating Swedish champion Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) in the race for third.

“I can’t believe I’ve managed to win”, said an amazed Riabchenko after the finish. “I was far from being a favourite and I didn’t think I could beat them but I took my chance with 15km to go and they didn’t catch me.

“In the last 500 metres, I kept looking behind to make sure that my dream was coming true,” she continued. “I’ve prepared well for this race, in altitude but also on flat roads like here. It was my first time in China. It was very hot today and it has made the race hard for everyone. Also during the three-day stage this week, I’ve broken away a few times but it didn’t work out. Luck has been on my side today. It’s hard to realise but it’s an enormous satisfaction.”

The 126.8km race began in front of the Aquatic Centre in central Shanghai, with Eun Hee Kim (Korea) and Qianyu Yang (Hong Kong) breaking away early. The two riders were caught by the peloton before they could reach the classified climb, on the 73 metre high Jiang Zemin bridge across to Chongming Island, which was taken by Valentina Scandolara (MCipollini-Giordana).

Scandolara also took the first intermediate sprint but, after 82km Aude Biannic (France) attacked alone. The Frenchwoman managed to get a maximum lead of 40 seconds, taking first place in the second intermediate sprint of the day, before being reeled in by the peloton with just over 20km to go.

Shortly after Biannic was caught Riabchenko chose her moment and the peloton allowed her to escape.

With six kilometres to go the Ukrainian was more than 30 seconds clear as Wiggle Honda and Orica-AIS began to chase, and the two powerful teams soon had her under control. With less than two kilometres left, however, Riabchenko followed the correct course as it took the right side of the wide highway, but the peloton was led to the left and had to stop, which caused a small crash in the bunch.

The peloton managed to get going again, and Riabchenko was tiring as she approached the finish, but with so little distance left it was impossible to make the catch.

Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv/Giant) was not present in China, but the result means that the World champion’s grip on the overall competition tightened further. Fourth place saw Johansson move up to second place, just 72 points behind, but with only three races - the next of which being the team time trial - the Swedish champion still faced an uphill battle to prevent Vos taking a fifth overall victory in the series.

1. Tetyana Riabchenko (Ukr) Chirio Forno d’Asolo
2. Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling @ 12s
3. Amy Pieters (Ned) Argos-Shimano
4. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS
5. Sara Mustonen (Swe) Faren-Let’s Go Finland
6. Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) MCipollini-Giordana
7. Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Faren-Let’s Go Finland
8. Kim de Baat (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
9. Oksana Kozonchuk (Rus) RusVelo
10. Julia Martisova (Rus) Chirio Forno d’Asolo

World Cup standings after five rounds
1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-Liv/Giant 249pts
2. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS 177
3. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon 159
4. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products 156
5. Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Team 76
6. Tetyana Riabchenko (Ukr) Chirio Forno d’Asolo 75
7. Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling 58
8. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Rabobank-Liv/Giant 56
9. Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 45
10. Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica-AIS 42


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC