Thüringen-Rundfahrt: Shara Gillow takes stage four time trial on anniversary of Amy Gillet’s death
  July 14, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Thüringen-Rundfahrt: Shara Gillow takes stage four time trial on anniversary of Amy Gillet’s death

by Ben Atkins at 6:31 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Third place keeps Emma Johansson in yellow jersey

shara gillowShara Gillow (Orica-AIS) took her first victory in the colours of Australian time trial champion as she won the stage four time trial of the 2013 Thüringen-Rundfahrt, in Gera, Germany. The 25-year-old completed the 21km course in a time of 28 minutes, 52 seconds, in conditions that saw a headwind on the outward leg and a tailwind on the way back, which saw riders reach reported speeds of 80kph.

Netherlands champion Ellen van Dijk (Specialized-lululemon) took second on the stage, 35 seconds behind Gillow, with race leader, Swedish champion Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) in third place, another four seconds back.

Third place on the stage was enough for Johansson to keep the yellow jersey, with teammate Gillow moving up to second place, five seconds behind.

“It’s very special to stand on the top step of the podium,” said Gillow. “I was third at the Energiewacht Tour time trial when I first came over to Europe in April and I was third earlier this month at the final stage time trial at the Giro Rosa, too. To take the win today was really special.

“I rode the course very, very slowly before I warmed-up,” she added. “I looked at how fast I could go in certain places. From the recon, I decided it was the type of course where I could go full gas the whole way.”

“We’ve been doing a lot of work for Emma,” Gillow noted. “It’s felt like a team time trial the last two days to chase back breaks. Today was just another time trial in that respect.”

Gillow’s victory was especially poignant as it came on the eighth anniversary of the crash that killed Australian Amy Gillett, and seriously injured teammates Katie Brown, Lorian Graham, Kate Nichols, Alex Rhodes and Louise Yaxley when a teenage drive lost control of her car and ploughed into the riders as they were out training before the race.

Lucy Martin (Boels-Dolmans) was the first rider to start, but the first truly competitive time was set by her compatriot, British champion Joanna Rowsell (Wiggle Honda), who set a time of 31’49”. Sari Saarelainen (MCipollini-Giordana) pushed Rowsell off the top of the standings soon afterwards, however, who went 15 seconds quicker.

Tayler Wiles (Specialized-lululemon) then lowered the best time to 30’22”, going more than a minute faster, but the American’s teammate van Dijk finished soon afterwards, in 29’27”.

Nobody could come close to the Netherlands champion’s time, until Gillow finished some 20 riders later, and pushed van Dijk into second by 35 seconds. Johansson - the only rider to have beaten van Dijk in a race against the clock in 2013 - could not quite do so this time, and finished four seconds behind the Dutchwoman, and 39 seconds behind her teammate.

Result stage 4
1. Shara Gillow (Aus) Orica-AIS, 21km in 28’52”
2. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon @ 35s
3. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS @ 39s
4. Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini-Giordana @ 50s
5. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized-lululemon @ 59s
6. Linda Villumsen (NZl) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling @ 1’07”
7. Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies @ 1’19”
8. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS @ 1’21”
9. Tayler Wiles (USA) Specialized-lululemon @ 1’30”
10. Esther Fennel (Ger) Koga Ladies @ 1’44”

Standings after stage 4
1. Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS
2. Shara Gillow (Aus) Orica-AIS @ 5s
3. Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini-Giordana @ 47s
4. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized-lululemon @ 1’11”
5. Linda Villumsen (NZl) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling @ 1’16”
6. Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies
7. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS @ 1’22”
8. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon @ 1’32”
9. Carmen Small (USA) Specialized-lululemon @ 1’46”
10. Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels-Dolmans @ 2’01”


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC