Japan Cup: First win in last race of 2013 for Michael Rogers
  May 25, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, October 20, 2013

Japan Cup: First win in last race of 2013 for Michael Rogers

by Shane Stokes at 10:27 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Australian solos to victory, Bauer, Cunego and Arredondo sprint it out for second

Michael RogersHe had to wait until his very last race of the season to clock up his first win of 2013, but Michael Rogers ended things on a good note when he picked up victory in the Japan Cup today.

After his team chased down the early break, the Team Saxo Tinkoff rider got clear in a small group towards the end of the 151.3 kilometre, 1.HC-ranked race, coping well despite torrential conditions.

The Colombian Julián Arredondo (Nippo – De Rosa) attacked and had a gap, but fell on the slippery roads of the descent, losing his chance of victory.

Rogers then pushed ahead with the young Briton Josh Edmondson, the duo pulling clear before Rogers pushed on alone and held on until the line.

“On the penultimate climb, Rory (Sutherland) and Evgeny (Petrov) did an amazing job, narrowing down the front group to just seven or eight riders,” he said after the mountainous race, explaining how things played out. “Soon I was alone with Edmundson (Sky).”

Rogers then decided to make sure of the win by attacking rather than taking his chances in a two up sprint. “In the finale, I managed to go solo and was actually able to enjoy the final kilometres as the margin kept growing.”

He rolled in 44 seconds ahead of Jack Bauer (Garmin-Sharp), double race winner Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida) and Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Nippo De Rosa) while Sky’s David Lopez was a further six seconds back.

Manuele Mori (Lampre-Merida), Joe Dombrowski (Sky) and Carlos Verona Quintanilla (Omega Pharma Quick Step) also finished under a minute behind; Edmondson faded towards the end but hung on for tenth.

Other riders such as Ivan Basso (Cannondale) and Dan Martin (Garmin Sharp) were not in the running for victory, fatiguing after a long season.

Team Saxo Tinkoff directeur sportif Philippe Mauduit was, predicably, delighted with how things worked out for Rogers and the team.

“In the beginning of the race, a small group managed to create a gap but the big teams worked together in the chase and had the race under control,” he said. “Our boys did a perfect job setting up Michael for the finale and when Michael first got a gap, he went in to time trial mode and was impossible to catch.”

Japan Cup (1.HC):

1, Michael Rogers (Team Saxo Tinkoff) 4 hours 25 mins
2, Jack Bauer (Garmin-Sharp) at 44 secs
3, Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida) at 44 secs
4, Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Nippo De Rosa) at 44 secs
5, David Lopez Garcia (Sky) at 50 secs
6, Manuele Mori (Lampre-Merida) at 58 secs
7, Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (Sky) at 58 secs
8, Carlos Verona Quintanilla (Omega Pharma Quick Step) at 58 secs
9, Taiji Nishitani (Aisan) at 1 min 5 secs
10, Joshua Edmondson (Sky) at 1 min 33 secs
11, Elia Favilli (Lampre-Merida) at 2 mins 30 secs
12, Ben Hermans (RadioShack Leopard) at 2 mins 55 secs
13, Pieter Serry (Omega Pharma Quick Step) at 2 mins 59 secs
14, Ivan Basso (Cannondale) at 2 mins 59 secs
15, Steele Von Hoff (Garmin-Sharp) at 3 mins 58 secs
16, Serghei Tvetcov (Jelly Belly Kenda) at 3 mins 58 secs
17, Tomoyuki Iino (Utsonomiya Blitzen) at 3 mins 58 secs
18, Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Team Ukyo) at 3 mins 58 secs
19, Ryoma Nonaka (Shimano) at 3 mins 58 secs
20, Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Aisan) at 3 mins 58 secs
21, Matthias Krizek (Cannondale) at 3 mins 58 secs
22, Rory Sutherland (Team Saxo Tinkoff) at 3 mins 58
23, Daniel Martin (Garmin-Sharp) at 4 mins 4
24, Evgeny Petrov (Team Saxo Tinkoff) at 4 mins 4
25, Ryota Nishizono (Champion System) at 4 mins 36
26, Hossein Alizadeh (Amore & Vita) at 6 mins 51
27, Naoya Uchino (Japan) at 8 mins 10
28, Sean Mazich (Jelly Belly Kenda) at 8 mins 17
29, Bernhard Eisel (Sky) at 8 mins 17
30, Nariyuki Masuda (Cannondale) at 8 mins 17
31, Yasuharu Nakajima (Aisan) at 8 mins 17
32, Charles Bradley Huff (Jelly Belly Kenda) at 8 mins 17
33, Sho Hatsuyama (Bridgestone Anchor) at 8 mins 19
34, Naoya Yoshioka (Japan) at 8 mins 19
35, Hayato Yoshida (Shimano) at 8 mins 19
36, Yuzuru Suzuki (Shimano) at 10 mins 30
37, Uri Martins (Amore & Vita) at 11 mins 26
38, Yuya Akimaru (Bridgestone Anchor) at 12 mins 16
39, Shinichi Fukushima (Nippo De Rosa) at 12 mins 36


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC