Helen Wyman retains European Cyclocross title with solo display
  April 04, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Helen Wyman retains European Cyclocross title with solo display

by Ben Atkins at 4:39 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross, Race Reports and Results
British rider leads from the front in muddy Czech race

helen wymanHelen Wyman (Great Britain) retained the title she had taken 12 months before, at the 2013 European Cyclocross Championships in Mladá Boleslav, Czech Republic. Just as she had done at the Koppenbergcross two days before, the 32-year-old British rider took the lead on the opening lap of the muddy 40-minute race, and managed to hold on to her lead to take a solo victory.

British champion Nikki Harris went one better than her own Koppenberg finish - and her bronze medal of 2012 - to take the silver medal, 1’11” behind Wyman, to complete a British one-two. French champion Lucie Chainel-Lefevre completed the bronze medal, as she managed to distance the Netherlands’ Sophie de Boer at the finish, another 13 seconds back.

The Under-23 Men’s race was won by Michael Vanthourenhout - the latest in the Belgian cyclocross family - who managed to escape the Netherlands’ Junior World and European champion - and Junior World road champion - Mathieu van der Poel. Gianni Vermeersch of Belgium took the bronze medal, as all eight Belgian riders finished inside the top-11.

The Youth Women’s race was taken by the Netherlands one-two of Anne Kalvenhaar and Sabrina Stultiëns, with Alice Maria Arzuffi of Italy third.

Another Koppenbergcross winner prevailed in the Junior Men’s race, as Belgian champion Yannick Peeters - the son of Omega Pharma-Quick Step directeur sportif Wilfried - took victory, ahead of the Czech Republic’s Adam Ťoupalík and Yan Gras of France.

Result Elite Women
1. Helen Wyman (Great Britain)
2. Nikki Harris (Great Britain)
3. Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (France)
4. Sophie de Boer (Netherlands)
5. Ellen Van Loy (Belgium)
6. Sanne Cant (Belgium)
7. Gabriella Durrin (Great Britain)
8. Pavla Havlíková (Czech Republic)
9. Karla Štěpánová (Czech Republic)
10. Lisa Heckmann (Germany)

Result U23 Men
1. Michael Vanthourenhout (Belgium)
2. Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands)
3. Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)
4. Wout Van Aert (Belgium)
5. Laurens Sweek (Belgium)
6. Jens Vandekinden (Belgium)
7. Tim Merlier (Belgium)
8. Fabian Doubey (France)
9. Jens Adams (Belgium)
10. David Menut (France)

Result Youth Women
1. Anne Kalvenhaar (Netherlands)
2. Sabrina Stultiëns (Netherlands)
3. Alice Maria Arzuffi (Italy)
4. Elena Valentini (Italy)
5. Martina Mikulášková (Czech Republic)
6. Yara Kastelijn (Netherlands)
7. Laura Verdonschot (Belgium)
8. Chiara Teocchi (Italy)
9. Nikola Nosková (Czech Rebublic)
10. Lotte Eikelenboom (Netherlands)

Result Junior Men
1. Yannick Peeters (Belgium)
2. Adam Ťoupalík (Czech Republic)
3. Yan Gras (France)
4. Lucas Dubau (France)
5. Kobe Goossens (Belgium)
6. Eli Iserbyt (Belgium)
7. Johan Jacobs (Switzerland)
8. Jelle Schuermans (Belgium)
9. Stijn Caluwé (Belgium)
10. Sébastien Havot (France)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC