Sven Nys wins Kristallen Fiets as Belgian cyclist of 2013
  April 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Sven Nys wins Kristallen Fiets as Belgian cyclist of 2013

by Ben Atkins at 5:34 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross
Cyclocross World champion takes his second award after yet another dominant year

sven nysSven Nys (Crelan-KDL) has won the Kristallen Fiets for the second time in his career, as the outstanding Belgian cyclist of the year. The 37-year-old cyclocross World champion last took the award in 2007, having won 30 races in the 2006/07 season, but the history of the title - sponsored by Belgian newspaper Het Laatste Nieuws - is sponsored by road riders.

In a close competition Nys polled 466 votes, just 46 more than Jan Bakelants (RadioShack-Leopard) with 420. Just two voted behind Bakelants was Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) with 418 votes.

"I'm very happy to win here, because it’s not such an obvious thing to win it as a crosser,” Nys said to Het Laatste Nieuws. “Becoming World champion is not always a guarantee of winning the Kristallen Fiets. I don’t knock this at all. Bakelants won a stage and yellow in the Tour and Van Avermaet was very consistent. I realise that we as crossers are not as big as the road riders, but I hope we will continue to be classified in the same category."

Fourth place in the award went to Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), while four-time winner, outgoing World champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing) was fifth with 100.

After another dominant year of cyclocross, Nys is in contention for more awards, but is underplaying his chances just now.

“I’m in the last three for Sportsman of the Year,” he explained, “but I will have to compete with [Ironman World champion] Frederik Van Lierde, and he is the big favourite. Whether I feel a year older? Not really. I look after myself better... and that reflects in my performance.”

Stijn Vandenbergh (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) was voted Kristallen Zweetdruppel [literally Crystal Sweatdripper - ed] as the best domestique of the year, while his boss Patrick Lefevere was voted as best team manager. Junior World time trial champion Igor Decraene was voted as the best young rider.

Kristallen Fiets 2013
1. Sven Nys (Crelan-KDL) 466
2. Jan Bakelants (RadioShack-Leopard) 420
3. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) 418
4. Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 316
5. Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing) 100


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC