Danielson to lead US Team in Worlds
  June 18, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Danielson to lead US Team in Worlds

by Ben Atkins at 11:55 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, World Championships
Garmin-Slipstream rider Tom Danielson will lead the United States team in this month’s World Championships in Mendrision, Switzerland. Danielson, currently in ninth position in the Vuelta a España after suffering a virus on one of the toughest mountain stages will also contest the time trial.

The rest of the team – which is bereft of many of the big stars of US cycling – includes sprinter Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Slipstream), winner of stage 11 of the Vuelta and three stages in the Eneco Tour of Benelux, as well as being a multiple runner-up behind Mark Cavendish at July’s Tour de France.

Brent Bookwalter (BMC Racing Team), fourth in this month’s USPRO Road Race Championships leads the rest of the squad which comprises: Jeff Louder (BMC), Craig Lewis (Columbia High-Road), Andrew Bajadali (Kelly Benefits Strategies), Jason McCartney (Team Saxo Bank), Tim Duggan (Garmin-Slipstream), and Tom Peterson (Garmin-Slipstream).

In the time trial, Danielson will be joined by Tom Zirbel (Boulder, Colo./Bissell), the silver medallist from this month’s USPRO Time Trial Championships.

Tejay Van Garderen (Rabobank Continental Team) and Peter Stetina (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko) will lead a strong under-23 squad. Both riders are fresh strong performances in the Tour de L’Avenir (where Van Garderen finished the race in second overall, just one second behind winner Romain Sicard of France) and will compete in both the road race and time trial in Switzerland. They will be joined in the road race by Kirk Carlsen (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko), Chris Barton (BMC), and Alex Howes (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko).

Elite Men:
Tom Danielson (Garmin-Slipstream)
Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Slipstream)
Brent Bookwalter (BMC Racing Team)
Jeff Louder (BMC)
Craig Lewis (Columbia-HTC)
Andrew Bajadali (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
Jason McCartney (Team Saxo Bank)
Tim Duggan (Garmin-Slipstream)
Tom Peterson (Garmnin-Slipstream)

Time Trial:
Tom Danielson (Garmin-Slipstream)
Tom Zirbel (Bissell)

U23 Men:
Peter Stetina (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko)
Tejay Vangarderen (Rabobank Continental Team)
Kirk Carlsen (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko)
Chris Barton (BMC)
Alex Howes (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko)

Time Trial:
Peter Stetina (Garmin-Felt-Holowesko)
Tejay Vangarderen (Rabobank Continental Team)

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC