Farrar wraps up Franco-Belge
  May 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Farrar wraps up Franco-Belge

by Nick Mulder at 12:53 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

American Tyler Farrar (Garmin) capped off an already successful season by taking the overall at the 69th edition of the Franco-Belge. The final stage over 147 kilometers was won by Argentinean sprinter Juan Jose Haedo (Saxo Bank) in front of Yauheni Hutarovich (Française des Jeux) and Brit Roger Hammond (Cervélo TestTeam).

After 35 kilometers a quartet broke free, including Belgium’s Stijn Vandenbergh (Katusha), Switzerland’s Martin Kohler (BMC), and Frenchmen Fabrice Jeandesboz (Besson Chaussures – Sojasun) and Florent Brard (Cofidis). Entering Ronse, the quartet gained a maximum of 3:50 ahead of the peloton with five finishing circuits of 15 kilometers still remaining, each time climbing the steep Croix Jubaru.

Denmark’s Lars Ytting Bak attacked on the climb in pursuit of the lead group, leaving Gianni Meersman (Francaise Des Jeux), Tomas Vaitkus (Astana), and Serguey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) in his wake. After 110 kilometers Bak and his pursuers caught the front group establishing a group of eight riders. The Garmin led peloton kept the leading eight within a minute of race leader Farrar.

With ten kilometers remaining Lagutin attacked out of the group in search of solo glory. The Uzbeki rider ran out of gas and was caught by the peloton, while Farrar suffered an untimely puncture with just five kilometers remaining. After a furious chase by his Garmin team, Farrar finally rejoined the peloton in the last kilometer, producing quite a scare with a happy ending for the American team.

1. Juan Jose Haedo (ARG/Saxo Bank) 3hr 22min 29sec, 2. Yauheni Hutarovich
(BLR) same time, 3. Roger Hammond (GBR) s.t., 4. Danilo Napolitano (ITA) s.t.,
5. Stefan van Dijk (NED) s.t.

Overall standings
1. Tyler Farrar (USA/Garmin) 18hr 27min 33sec, 2. Tom Boonen (BEL) at 8sec,
3. Roger Hammond (GBR) 14, 4. Juan Jose Haedo (ARG) 14, 5. Steven de Jongh
(NED) 21


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC