Pinarello confirms with Team Sky
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, October 9, 2009

Pinarello confirms with Team Sky

by Conal Andrews at 9:37 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

Sixteen riders have so far been confirmed for the new Team Sky project and while it will be a little longer before the full lineup will be known, another important element of the squad’s development has been confirmed.

The British ProTour squad has completed a deal with Italian manufacturer Pinarello and will use the company’s bikes for the next three years. The 57-year old Treviso company will supply frames, forks, seat posts and headsets to the team, and confirms them as the first major technical partner.

“We are very happy with this new partnership,” said Fausto Pinarello, President of the Cicli Pinarello company. “Team Sky’s goal of becoming one of the world’s leading cycling teams, fits with our objective of continuing and growing our presence as one of the world’s leading bicycle manufacturers. We have signed a 3 year agreement and we look forward to a long, prosperous and successful collaboration.”

Sky team principal Dave Brailsford was similarly enthusiastic. “We are thrilled to be riding Pinarello bikes. Joining up with this great producer is a crucial step for Team Sky. With Pinarello we have found the perfect partner to supply and develop an extraordinary line of bikes for our riders.

“The choice of bike has been a key decision. From the first talks, we found an immediate understanding with Pinarello on what this team is about; performance and perfection. The ways that Pinarello combine their life-long passion for the bike with the latest technology are genuinely inspired. Pinarello are now a fundamental part of the team and will help our relentless efforts to have the best possible tools for Team Sky.”

Promising young talents and established professionals will provide the backbone of the new project, with Tour of Britain winner Edvald Boasson Hagen, Thomas Lovkvist, Kurt Arvesen, Simon Gerrans, Juan Antonio Flecha, Kjell Carlstrom, John Lee Augustyn, Greg Henderson, Lars Petter Nordhaug and Morris Possoni all signed. Six British riders are also on board, namely Geraint Thomas, Steve Cummings, Pete Kennaugh, Chris Froome, Ian Stannard and Tour of Ireland winner Russell Downing.

The team’s first competitive outing with be in the 2010 Tour Down Under. The remainder of the lineup should be confirmed in the next few weeks.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC