Nys makes it seven at Koppenbergcross
  May 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Nys makes it seven at Koppenbergcross

by VeloNation Press at 6:06 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross, Race Reports and Results

Sven Nys won the Koppenbergcross for the seventh time today in Oudenaarde, and with his victory also taking the second round of the GvA-Trophy. The Belgian champion sealed the win with an attack on the final ascent of the famous Koppenberg climb. Niels Albert finished second with Klaas Vantornout third.

"A cross that everyone wants to win," Niels Albert said before the start. But the World Champion was in for a tough start to the race, missing the front quartet that formed early including Nys, Francis Mourey, Zdenek Stybar, and Klaas Vantornout.

The front four distanced themselves from the group, but the world champion got better as the race went on making it across to the front as the race tactics were played out. The front group eventually swelled to seven including Bart Aernouts, Kevin Pauwels, and Klaas Vantornout.

In the end it was Nys putting in an attack that Albert couldn't match sealing up his seventh victory in the race.

Nys and Albert are now tied for the lead for the GvA-Trophy with 50 points each.

1. Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet - Colnago) BEL 25.00
2. Niels Albert (Bkcp - Powerplus) BEL 22.00
3. Klaas Vantornout (Stevens International Cyclocross Team) BEL 19.00
4. Kevin Pauwels (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team) BEL 17.00
5. Zdenek Stybar (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team) CZE 16.00
6. Francis Mourey (Française Des Jeux) FRA 15.00
7. Bart Aernouts (Rabobank Continental Team) BEL 14.00
8. Enrico Franzoi (Liquigas) ITA 13.00
9. Gerben De Knegt (Rabobank Continental Team) NED 12.00
10. Erwin Vervecken (Baboco - Revor Cycling Team) BEL 11.00
11. Dariusz Gil (Baboco - Revor Cycling Team) POL 10.00
12. Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bkcp - Powerplus) BEL 9.00
13. Sven Vanthourenhout (Stevens International Cyclocross Team) BEL 8.00
14. Marco Bianco ITA 7.00
15. Tom Van Den Bosch (AA Drinks Cycling Team) BEL 6.00
16. Radomir Simunek (Bkcp - Powerplus) CZE 5.00
17. Jan Verstraeten (Kdl-Trans) BEL 4.00
18. Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) USA 3.00
19. Rob Peeters (Landbouwkrediet - Colnago) BEL 2.00
20. Philip Walsleben (Bkcp - Powerplus) GER 1.00


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC