Columbia looks ahead to 2010 Tour Down Under
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Columbia looks ahead to 2010 Tour Down Under

by VeloNation Press at 11:56 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour Down Under

Team Columbia-HTC has already announced their lineup for the 2010 Tour Down Under. Former overall winners Andre Greipel and Michael Rogers have been confirmed by race officials said. Australia's biggest race will be held in in Adelaide from January 17-24, and will also see Lance Armstrong's first race with his new RadioShack team. The American returned to professional cycling ranks at the event earlier this year after a more than three year retirement.

Greipel crashed out of the race in the third stage earlier this year. He was sidelined for months after dislocating his shoulder and suffering a deep gash in his elbow. But the German sprinter finished his season well by winning several stages in the Vuelta a España as well as Paris-Bourges.

"After Greipel's mishap at the race this year we are pleased he will be back," race director Mike Turtur said.

"History shows that our race is a great start to Greipel's season.

"In 2008 he took overall victory and this year started with a stage win in the 2009 Tour Down Under, and continued winning form all season, with four stage wins at the Vuelta a Espana and a total of 20 victories."

Columbia-HTC will make their team debut at the Tour Down Under with a strong team that includes Australian Matthew Goss who rode for Bjarne Riis Saxo Bank team in 2009, and track specialist Hayden Roulston from New Zealand who comes over from the Cervelo Test Team.

"Hayden will be an asset to the team, having won the silver medal in the men's 4000m individual pursuit and a bronze medal in the men's 4000m team pursuit at the 2008 Beijing Olympics," Turtur explained.

Bob Stapleton's Columbia-HTC team had the most successful season in professional cycling this year. The teams' palmares included a combined 16 stage wins from the three Grand Tours and the opening Classic of the season Milan-Sanremo.

Team Columbia-HTC for 2010 Tour Down Under:
Andre Greipel (GER)
Michael Rogers (AUS)
Bernhard Eisel (AUT)
Mark Renshaw (AUS)
Matthew Goss (AUS)
Marcel Sieberg (GER)
Hayden Roulston (NZL)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC