2010 Tour de Langkawi launched
  April 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, November 12, 2009

2010 Tour de Langkawi launched

by Conal Andrews at 9:25 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

The gruelling climb of Genting Highlands will once again be the big decider in the 2010 Tour de Langkawi, the route of which was announced today in Kuala Lumpur.

The Malaysian event is now in its fifteenth edition and will cover 1,001.8 kilometres between March 1st and 7th. Twenty teams will take part in the 2.HC-ranked contest, with three ProTour squads and five Pro Continental squads leading the charge.

The action gets underway from Kota Bharu in the north of the country, with the riders covering a 174.5 kilometre trek to Kuala Berang. Days two and three continue to head down the warm, wind-swept South China Sea coast and echelons could well form and split up the field. Stage two is the longest of the race, running 182.9 kilometres from Kuala Terengganu to Chukai, while the following day covers 144 km from Pekan in Pahang to Mersing in Johor.

From there the race heads due west to the other side of the country. The 163.5 kilometre fourth leg finishes close to the coast in Parit Sulong; after an overnight stay in the area, the riders will then travel 140.3km northwest from Muar to Port Dickson.

The following day is the second-shortest at 103.9km, but indisputably the hardest and most significant. Starting in Putrajaya, the riders will head due north before an agonising finale on the Genting Highlands climb. This is one of the toughest in cycling and always decimates the field.

Whoever leads that evening will almost certainly hold on to victory on the following days’ concluding stage. It goes 92.8 kilometres from Kuala Kubu Baru to Dataran Merdeka in Kuala Lumpur, with six loops of a finishing circuit ending things up with a likely sprint finish.

The 2010 race will, for the first time, be directly organised by the Ministry of Youth and Sport, with the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) also having an input.

Today’s route announcement was officially launched by the Deputy Youth and Sports Minister, Y.B. Dato’ Razali Haji Ibrahim. He emphasised the importance of the race in terms of developing sporting excellence and tourism.

"Malaysia has succeeded in putting LTDL as one of the most prestigious cycling race in Asia,” he stated. “Every year the Tour grows in recognition. In fact we can be proud of this achievement, raising the standard of event organisation to a professional world-class level and further enhance the development of sports in our country.

“The organization of events such as this not only strengthens the sport. Even more importantly, it contributes to generating income for the nation’s economy, in line with the government's intention to make Malaysia as an ideal destination for international sport events."

"Under the concept of a new economic model, the government is committed to develop the sports as a vibrant, productive industry contributing to the income of the country.”

He said that there will be a very big media presence covering the race, and that the route had been designed to maximise the benefits to the country.

"The LTDL Organizing Committee has arranged this route covering 13 locations to help introduce our country from the angle of hospitality, cultural, racial harmony and tourism products that become our pride to the world community. The Ministry of Youth and Sport also hope like the years before, that the nation will continue to lend their support to this tour.”

Columbian rider José Serpa won this year’s race, also taking a stage victory and the mountains classification. Australian rider Jai Crawford was second, 27 seconds back, while Serpa’s Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli team-mate Jackson Rodriguez was third.


Le Tour de Langkawi 2010

Malaysia, 2.HC (March 1 – 7)

1 : Kota Bharu – Kuala Berang (174.5km)
2: Kuala Terengganu – Chukai (182.9km)
3: Pekan, Pahang – Mersing, Johor (144km)
4: Mersing, Johor – Parit Sulong, Johor (163.5km)
5 : Muar, Johor – Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan (140.3km)
6: Putrajaya, WP – Genting Highlands (103.9km)
7: Kuala Kubu Baru – Dataran Merdeka (loop x6) (92.8km)



Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC