Lance Armstrong’s 2010 comeback begins with RadioShack debut
  June 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Lance Armstrong’s 2010 comeback begins with RadioShack debut

by Nick Mulder at 10:30 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour Down Under

New American ProTour formation RadioShack has announced its complete roster for next year’s Santos Tour Down Under being held from January 17-24, 2010. RadioShack manager Johan Bruyneel confirmed the line-up will feature seven-time Tour de France champion Lance Armstrong, where he will officially start his bid to secure an eighth Tour de France overall title. This makes the second year in a row that Armstrong will begin his season with Australia’s ProTour event in Adelaide.

Joining Armstrong will be Daryl Impey, Jason McCartney, Yaroslav Popovych, Sébastien Rosseler, Gert Steegmans and Tomas Vaitkus. Steegmans will be the team’s contender for the sprint finishes and overall victory, with his biggest career win coming in last year’s final Tour stage on the Champs-Elysees. The Belgian will be hungry for wins after being sidelined by his former team Katusha over an anti-doping addendum to his contract.

Steegmans started his 2009 season well with a win in the Trofeo Mallorca and a stage in the Vuelta a Andalucia, but was soon sidelined due to an injury at the Tour Down Under that caused him to lose power in his left leg. The situation soured his relationship with the Russian team’s manager Andrei Tchmil, where it came to a head when he refused to sign the addendum to his contract.

Armstrong will be looking to build up his base in Australia for the much anticipated showdown with former teammate Alberto Contador (Astana) in July. The Spaniard will be looking for his third Tour de France victory, but Armstrong has made it clear that he is highly motivated for the race, and will arrive in much better condition than in the in the 2009 edition.  The American managed to shock critics by securing a podium spot despite being fresh off a 3-year hiatus from competition.

RadioShack for 2010 Santos Tour Down Under:
Lance Armstrong
Daryl Impey
Jason McCartney
Yaroslav Popovych
Sébastien Rosseler
Gert Steegmans
Tomas Vaitkus


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC