Cali Track World Cup roundup
  May 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, December 14, 2009

Cali Track World Cup roundup

by Ben Atkins at 2:11 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Track
The third round of the 2009/10 Track World Cup in Cali, Colombia saw some impressive performances, despite the absence of many of the stronger teams.

France, and particularly the Cofidis team dominated the sprint events, with the British and Australian teams staying at home. Cofidis’ Kevin Sireau won the individual sprint, beating Germany’s Robert Forstemann in two legs. Forstemann’s teammate Maximilian Levy took a similarly emphatic bronze medal over Canada’s Travis Smith. Michael D’Almeida of the French national team took first place in the kilometre timetrial in 1:01.171, ahead of compatriot François Pervis of Cofidis and Ukrainian Yevhen Bolibrukh.

The team sprint was taken by the Cofidis team of Sireau, Pervis and Dutchman Teun Mulder from the German team of Forstemann, Levy and Mathias Stumpf. D’Almeida added to his kilo success with a win in the Keirin, with Mulder and Andrii Vynokurov of the Ukraine taking second and third.

With most of the favourites missing from the endurance events, a home victory was taken in the team pursuit event by the Colombia team as they caught the Russian Lokomotiv team with three laps to go. Spain beat France for the bronze medal. The individual event was taken by Vitaliy Popkov of the Ukraine over Juan Esteban Arango of Colombia; Lokomotiv’s Valery Kaikov beat Lithuanian Gediminas Bagdonas for bronze.

The scratch race was won by Angel Colla of Argentina over Erik Mohs of Germany and home rider Leonardo Duque of Cofidis. Ioannis Tamouridis of Greece won the points race, with Belgian six-day specialist Iljo Keisse taking second and Marcel Barth of German third. Barth and Mohs managed to atone for this in the Madison though, where they took the win over Artur Ershov and Kaikov of Lokomotiv and Carlos Ospina and Carlos Uran of Colombia.

In the women’s sprint events the Netherlands dominated where the French had in the men’s. Willy Kanis beat Diana Maria Garcia in two legs, former World champion Simona Krupeckaite of Lithuania beat Lisandra Guerra for bronze. The same four topped the table for the 500m time trial with Krupeckaite taking the win ahead of Kanis and Guerra. Jess Varnish, Great Britain’s sole competitor at the event, was fifth after finishing seventh in the sprint.

Kanis and Yvonne Hijgenaar were similarly dominant in the team sprint, taking victory over Lithuanians Krupeckaite and Gintare Gaivenyte. German Christin Muche took the Keirin from Australia’s Emily Rosemond and Diana Maria Garcia.

The pursuit events proved to be a battle between the USA and Canada with former World champion Sarah Hammer catching Tara Whitten in the final kilometre. Canada turned the tables in the team event though, as Whitten, Stephanie Roorda and Laura Brown beat Hammer, Lauren Tamayo and Dotsie Bausch.

Tatsiana Sharakova of Belarus won the women’s scratch race by taking a lap over the rest of the field. Italian Giorgia Bronzini won the sprint, taking second from Yumari Gonzalez of Cuba. Bronzini, the World champion emphatically won the points race over Tara Whitten and Germany’s Charlotte Becker.

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC