Garmin-Transisitons roster for 2010, renews with key riders
  June 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Garmin-Transisitons roster for 2010, renews with key riders

by VeloNation Press at 12:43 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

Team Garmin-Transitions has announced their team roster for the 2010 season, also confirming that three key riders have extended their contracts. The team had a successful 2009, and once warmed up at the Tour de France, where the team placed second overall with two riders in the top 10, they went on to win three stages at the Vuelta and perform well in the Tour of Britain and the Sun Tour.

The Garmin-Transitions team features 10 Americans among a total of 27 riders from eight different countries. Christian Vande Velde, 8th overall in the 2009 Tour de France, David Zabriskie, U.S. Time Trial Champion and sprint sensation Tyler Farrar will return to the squad along with stars Dan Martin, Ryder Hesjedal and David Millar.

New additions include Jack Bobridge, Australia’s U23 Road Race and Time Trial Champion, Johan Van Summeren, two-time top ten finisher of Paris-Roubaix, and expert lead-out man Robbie Hunter.

The team lost Tour de France revelation Bradley Wiggins to Team Sky, but was able to hang onto
Vande Velde, Martin and Zabriskie with renewed contracts that will extend through 2012, 2012 and 2013, respectively. While the Wiggins loss was a big blow to the team, Vande Velde had an impressive Tour coming off of injury, and with any luck he should do well in 2010. Martin is the team's Grand Tour rider for the future and will likely show his promise come July.

“I’ve come an long way with Team Garmin-Transitions in a short time,” said Vande Velde. “I’m incredibly proud of what I’ve done as part of this team and I’m excited to see what the next three years have to hold.”

“The progress we have made together in the past two seasons shows what a perfect environment Garmin-Transitions is for a young rider,” said Martin. “I’m really excited to have the chance to continue to improve, grow and have fun in what is the perfect team for me.”

Zabriskie won the first stage race of his career at the Tour of Missouri towards the end of 2009, and will have a lot of motivation to perform well next season. “It’s a beautiful thing,” explained Zabriskie. “To commit for four years myself, and to have the team commit to me is something really special.”

Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of Slipstream Sports management company, is positive about the team's outlook for the future: “We’re poised well for 2010. Our roster is strong and versatile with some of the world’s best riders returning to us, and the addition of others."

Team sprinter Tyler Farrar had an amazing run to end his season that included a stage win in the Vuelta a Espana, and a stage win and the overall in the Circuit Franco-Belge. Vaughters is ready to give Farrar a boost in support for 2010, and also make sure Vande Velde has his chance in the Tour.

“This year we will look to build on Tyler’s success by adding lead-out guys, we’ve added climbers to help Christian in the mountains and we’ve rounded out our Classics team. With Christian, Dan and David signing on for the next few years, we’ve built a foundation that we will be able to enhance in years to come. Looking ahead to 2010, we expect to be competitive throughout the year.”

Team Garmin-Transitions will compete in a full slate of international races throughout the spring and summer, kicking off with the Tour Down Under in January 2010.

Garmin-Transitions roster for 2010:
Jack Bobridge, AUS
Kirk Carlson, USA
Steven Cozza, USA
Tom Danielson, USA
Julian Dean, NZ
Timmy Duggan, USA
Tyler Farrar, USA
Ryder Hesjedal, CAN
Robbie Hunter, SA
Fredrik Kessiakoff, SWE
Michel Kreder, NED
Trent Lowe, AUS
Dan Martin, IRL
Maartijn Maaskant, NED
Christian Meier, CAN
Cameron Meyer, AUS
Travis Meyer, AUS
David Millar, GB
Danny Pate, USA
Thomas Peterson, USA
Peter Stetina, USA
Svein Tuft, CAN
Johan Van Summeren, BEL
Ricardo van der Velde, NED
Christian Vande Velde, USA
Matt Wilson, AUS
David Zabriskie, USA



Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC