BMC Racing Team receives wildcard status from the UCI
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

BMC Racing receives wildcard status from the UCI

by VeloNation Press at 12:43 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

The new and improved BMC Racing Team found out Monday that the International Cycling Union (UCI) has granted the team wildcard status for the 2010 season. While they had announced their participation in the Santos Tour Down Under, their wildcard status needed to be officially approved for reigning World Champion Cadel Evans to take the start.

Their wildcard status also means that, along with their ability to be invited to UCI ProTour events, the American team will also end up on the short list of potential invites to races like Paris-Roubaix and the three Grand Tours, which fall under the category of historical monuments on the UCI World Calendar.

“This was critical to fulfilling our central goals, not only for 2010 but also into the future,” said team president Jim Ochowicz. “It paves the way for an ambitious schedule of racing that will expose even more people to the BMC Racing Team and our outstanding line-up of sponsors.”

In order to qualify for wildcard status a team must meet the strict criteria set by the sport's governing body. The evaluation includes a thorough sporting, legal, financial and ethical examination of the team.

With new recruits for the year highlighted with Evans, former World Champion Alessandro Ballan and American George Hincapie, the team will look to be competitive all season long in a wide variety of races.

“We expect to be competitive in every race we enter, whether it’s a one-day classic, a one-week stage race or a Grand Tour,” explained sports director John Lelangue. “All the pieces are in place for this team to get the most out of its talent – be it in Europe, the United States or anywhere in the world.”


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC