BMC Racing heads to Qatar and Oman
  April 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

BMC Racing heads to Qatar and Oman

by VeloNation Press at 11:31 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Qatar

Click for larger image...The American formation BMC Racing is gearing for its Spring campaign in Europe this week at their training camp in California. While part of the team - including World Champion Cadel Evans and US Champion George Hincapie - have already taken part in the Santos Tour Down Under, another group readies for a trip to compete in Arabia.

The next two races planned for the team are the Tour of Qatar and the Tour of Oman. Thanks to an invitation by race founder Eddy Merckx and its organizer the Amaury Sports Organization (ASO), this is the third consecutive year that BMC Racing will take the start in the Qatari Tour,

After finishing up in Qatar, the team will head to the Sultanate of Oman for the inaugural edition of the Tour of Oman, which was also founded by Merckx.

Directeur Sportif John Lelangue is looking forward to taking his "new look" BMC team for a test drive on its way to Europe. “We owe it to the ASO and Eddy Merckx to arrive at the Tour of Qatar with a strong and attractive team," he said. "This is our way of showing our respect and appreciation for the confidence they have in us. In addition, this is an excellent opportunity to show off our ideas about professional cycling to another international audience.”

Leading the charge will be former World Champion Alessandro Ballan along with 2007 Gent-Wevelgem winner Marcus Burghardt. The team will also be packing some speed with current US National Criterium Champion John Murphy and Norwegian neo-pro Alexander Kristoff. Rounding out the squad will be Jackson Stewart, Simon Zahner, Michael Schär and Martin Kohler who showed good form at the Tour Down Under.

BMC Racing Team Roster for the Tours of Oman and Qatar:
Alessandro Ballan (ITA)
Marcus Burghardt (GER)
John Murphy (USA)
Alexander Kristoff (NOR)
Jackson Stewart (USA)
Simon Zahner (SWI)
Michael Schär (SWI)
Martin Kohler (SWI)

Sports Director - John Lelangue (BEL)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC