Astana re-signs nine for 2009
  April 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, July 31, 2008

Astana re-signs nine for 2009

by VeloNation Press at 11:00 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Today Team Manager Johan Bruyneel announced that nine riders have re-signed for the 2009 season. Assan Bazayev, Chris Horner, Maxim Iglinskiy, Andreas Klöden, Steve Morabito, Dmitriy Muravyev, Daniel Navarro, Gregory Rast and Michael Schär. Those rider will join the team's top GC riders 2008 Giro d’Italia Champion Alberto Contador and Levi Leipheimer twice winner of the Tour of California.

So far this season Astana has mounted up twenty-eight wins, and is currently leading the ProTour Team Classification. Bruyneel is glad to keep a squad that has been working so well together. “Over the last couple months, I’ve received many phone calls from riders on other teams who wanted to race next year for Team Astana. Though flattering, it was my desire to first re-sign the key members who have contributed to the success of this new team. I’m confident that the group we have assembled thus far will not only continue to win races, but also represent Astana, Kazakhstan and our entire sponsor family with pride and honor.”

When asked about his recent signing Andreas Klöden commented, “I’m very happy to have the opportunity to continue my career with Team Astana and Johan. When I see the number of riders who have re-signed for next year, it proves that we remain committed to this program, regardless of which races we are invited to participate in. We still have goals to achieve in 2008, but I’m already looking forward to next year.”

The 2009 roster currently has eighteen riders and Bruyneel expects to add another seven to next year’s team. With the question marks for new sponsors at Credit Agricole and Gerolsteiner there will be plenty of talent on the pool. “I’m excited about what we’ve accomplished so far and believe that Team Astana has an even brighter future ahead. I owe a great deal of gratitude to the Kazakh officials who support this program and have always believed in the Team; it’s been a great partnership,” commented Bruyneel.

List of 2009 Team Astana Riders (as of July 31st):
Assan Bazayev, Jani Brajkovic, Alberto Contador, Chris Horner, Maxim Iglinskiy, Roman Kireyev, Andreas Klöden, Berik Kupeshov, Levi Leipheimer, Steve Morabito, Dmitriy Muravyev, Daniel Navarro, Benjamín Noval, Sérgio Paulinho, Gregory Rast, Michael Schär, Tomas Vaitkus and Andrey Zeits

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC