Eeckhout wins final Bessèges stage, Dumoulin takes overall
  May 22, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, February 7, 2010

Eeckhout wins final Bessèges stage, Dumoulin takes overall

by Bjorn Haake at 12:04 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Power sprinter Niko Eeckhout (An Post-Sean Kelly) took the final stage of the Etoile de Bessèges stage race, ahead of Valentin Iglinskiy and Hans Dekkers. A tenth place in the 145-kilometer stage was enough for Samuel Dumoulin to take the overall victory, ahead of Matthieu Ladagnous and Pieter Ghyllebert.

The race ended in a tight sprint in Bessèges, according to Several riders opted to not take the start on the final stage, including Oscar Pereiro, Enrico Gasparotto and Nicolas Roche.

Thomas de Gendt (Topsport Vlaanderen) won the mountains classification (finishing fourth in the overall). Borut Bozic (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) took home the points jersey. Romain Lemarchand (BigMat-Auber 93) won the young rider classification.

Results stage five, Gagnières to Bessèges - 145km

1. Niko Eeckhout SKT 3h15'07 (avg 44,589 km/h)
2. Valentin Iglinskiy AST st
3. Hans Dekkers LAN
4. Tom Veelers SKS
5. Steven Caethoven LAN
6. Johan Mombaerts AUB
7. Borut Bozic VAC
8. Matthieu Ladagnous FDJ
9. Sébastien Chavanel FDJ
10. Samuel Dumoulin COF

Final overall classification

1. Samuel Dumoulin COF
2. Matthieu Ladagnous FDJ
3. Pieter Ghyllebert SKT


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC