Edvald Boasson Hagen confirms his race leadership in the Tour of Oman's stage 3
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Boasson Hagen confirms his leadership in Oman

by VeloNation Press at 9:42 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Team Sky's Edvald Boasson Hagen finally broke through with a win today in the 124 kilometer third stage of the Tour of Oman from Saifat Ash Shiekh to Qurayyat.  The young phenom beat Italian Danilo Napolitano (Katusha) and American Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) to second and third respectively. Belgian Tom Boonen (Quick Step) finished fourth on the day.

With podium finishes in the first and second stages, Boasson Hagen already held the race's red leader's jersey, but the young Norwegian had not yet earned the satisfaction of a win.

"I'm really happy with the win," Boasson Hagen said after the stage. "The guys have made good lead outs on every stage so far and to finish it off today is a great feeling."

With three podium finishes in the sprints between the Tours of Qatar and Oman, the British team knew it would only be a matter of time for their young talent to come through with a win.

The break of the day featured Ben King (Trek Livestrong U23), Gatis Smukulis (AG2r), Laurent Mangel (Saur-Sojasun) and Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil), who managed a maximum lead of 2'40" before they were reeled in by the bunch.  The day ended with Team Sky delivering their man perfectly on the long, flat run into the finish, to extend his lead in the overall competition.

Now, at just 22 years of age, Boasson Hagen has confirmed his place as leader in the race and, with the company he has beaten, will be looked upon as another possible threat to former teammate Mark Cavendish's (HTC-Columbia) sprint throne.

Tour of Oman stage 3 results:
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky)
2. Danilo Napolitano (Team Katusha)
3. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions)
4. Tom Boonen (Quick Step)

Tour of Oman general classification after stage 3:
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) 8h 00m 54s
2. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) at 10"
3. Daniele Benatti (Liquigas) at 10"
4. Danilo Napolitano (Team Katusha) at 14"
5. Gatis Smukulis (AG2r) at 15"


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC