Fabian Cancellara takes overall win in Tour of Oman, Edvald Boasson Hagen the stage
  May 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, February 19, 2010

Cancellara takes overall win in Oman, Boasson Hagen the stage

by VeloNation Press at 9:29 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

World time trial champion Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) has won the first edition of the Tour of Oman today, after finishing second on the final stage of the race to Team Sky's Edvald Boasson Hagen. The young Norwegian beat Cancellara by 17 seconds in the discipline he has dominated in recent years.

Sixteen seconds separated the Swiss rider from the leader's jersey before taking the start, but it wasn't enough time for sprinter Daniele Bennati (Liquigas) to hold off Cancellara on the 19 kilometer course from Al Jissah to the Muscat Corniche. 22 year old Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Transitions) finished third, 45 seconds off the pace, which brought him into third overall, while Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia) finished a futher 3 seconds back in fourth.

The versatile Boasson Hagen rode strongly confirming his form, showing that the questionable tactics on Wednesday's stage four cost him the overall win. Reportedly Boasson Hagen, while holding the race lead, stopped for a nature break with 55 kilometers remaining, when several riders put the hammer down. An earlier acceleration in pace by Team Sky while in the feed zone was rumored to be the reason for the tactic against Team Sky. He chased hard but eventually finished one minute and five seconds back dropping to 34th, just over a minute behind Bennati.

While Boasson Hagen wasn't able to walk away with the leader's jersey today, his performances throughout the week were enough for him to seal up the points and best young rider competitions.

Stage 6 Results: Al Jissah - Muscat Corniche (19 kilometers)
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) 25m58s
2. Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) + 17s
3. Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Transitions) +45s
4. Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia) +48s
5. Artem Ovechkin (Katusha) +1:01

Final General Classification:
1. Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) 16h 2m 52s
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) +28s
3. Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Transitions) s.t.
4. Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia) +31s
5. Daniele Bennati (Liquigas) +47s


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC