Rabobank sends Dutch contingent to Paris-Nice
  April 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Rabobank sends Dutch contingent to Paris-Nice

by VeloNation Press at 10:11 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

The Rabobank team will be sending an all Dutch team to France next week to contest the 2010 edition of Paris-Nice. With an average age of 25 years old, the team will be young, but will still be in with a chance for stage wins with Lars Boom, Joost Posthuma and an on form Rick Flens, who had an exceptional ride in Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne this past weekend. Bauke Mollema, 23, will head up the team's general classification bid after a strong performance in the Ruta Del Sol.

"Bauke went very well in the Ruta del Sol," said the team's manager Erik Breukink. "His confidence grew daily. After his illness of last year, he is now back."

Breukink noted the lack of major climbs in Paris-Nice this year, but thinks the race will still be a good one. "There are no 'giants'", Breukink said to Rabosport referring the the profile of the race. "But the final stages near Nice are traditionally very difficult," he added, pointing out stage five's mountaintop finish in Mende as a decisive stage for the overall.

The Dutch team is happy with their start the the season, giving the credit to their triple world champion Oscar Friere. "Oscar Freire has quickly taken the pressure off of us with his three victories," explained Breukink. The Spainiard won the Trofeo Cala Millor stage in the Mallorca Challenge and two stages of the Ruta del Sol.

He said the rest of the team has put in some good rides, especially Flens' ride in the Belgian opening weekend. "In the opening weekend the team rode very well. In the 'Omloop' [Het Nieuwsblad] the team did a good job and it was disappointing not to get a result.

"Sunday in Kuurne Rick Flens was one of the best in the race," he added, confirming that Dutch rival Vacansoleil's Bobbie Traksel was a worthy victor that day.

Rabobank for the 2010 Paris-Nice:
Bauke Mollema, Lars Boom, Dennis van Winden, Jos van Emden, Rick Flens, Tom Leezer, Bram Tankink en Joost Posthuma.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC