Flahaut sprints to victory in Omloop van het Waasland
  January 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Flahaut sprints to victory in Omloop van het Waasland

by Bjorn Haake at 2:25 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Denis Flahaut (ISD) won the 46th edition of the Omloop van het Waasland on Sunday, in a bunch sprint. After 191 kilometers, Flahaut left Baptiste Planckaert behind in second and Lithuanian Egidius Juodvalkis in third.

The race is situated northeast of Gent, Belgium, with the start in Lokeren and finish in Stekene. Three larger 27km loops were followed by nine laps over 12.4km.

A group of 23 men formed very early, according to belga. Once the smaller laps started, the peloton put the hammer down and the break was eliminated. Last-minute efforts by David Boucher and Jean Zen were also eliminated, but everything came back together inside the last ten kilometers.

The sprinters' teams then held everything together, which set things up nicely for Flahaut.


1 Denis Flahaut (Isd Continental Team)
2 Baptiste Planckaert (Landbouwkrediet)
3 Edidijus Juodvalkis (Palmans Cras)
4 Klaas Lodewijckx (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator)
5 Remco Te Brake (Van Vliet Ehb Elshof)
6 Vermeltfoortcoen (Rabobank Continental)
7 Gregory De Munster (Colba Mercury Dour)
8 Kris Boeckmans (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator)
9 Michael Schweizer (Nuttrixxion - Sparkasse Team)
10 Jurgen Francois (Palmans Cras)
11 Tobyn Horton (Sprocket Team)
12 Thimothy Dupont (Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht)
13 Alexander Van Ruitenbeek (Kuota Team - Indeland)
14 Stefan Van Dijk (Verandas Willems C.T.)
15 Johnn Ariesen (Jo Piels Cycling Team)
16 Hans Dekkers (Landbouwkrediet)
17 Tosh Van Der Sande (Wg Beveren 2000)
18 Timon Seubert (Team Netapp)
19 Pieter Cordeel (Rock Werchter - Chocolade Jacques)
20 Jonas Vangenechten (Verandas Willems C.T.)
21 James Van Landschoot (Verandas Willems C.T.)
22 Nico Keinath (Team Netapp)
23 David Boucher (Landbouwkrediet)
24 Normunds Lasis (Colba Mercury Dour)
25 Stef Swinnen (Terra Footwear Bicycle)



Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC