Kump sprints to Coppi e Bartali stage win
  June 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, March 26, 2010

Kump sprints to Coppi e Bartali stage win

by VeloNation Press at 1:23 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Marko Kump (Adria Mobil) has won the 183.8 kilometer fourth stage of the Settimana Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali. The young Slovenian was the fastest in the sprint from a select group that finished in Emilia. Simone Ponzi (Lampre - Farnese) and Claudio Corioni (De Rosa - Stac Plastic) finished second and third respectively.

It only took 11 kilometers for Edwin Carvajal (Miche) and Dmytro Grabovskyy (ISD - Neri) to try their luck for the day, with the two attackers allowed a sizable gap over the main group. By the time the peloton completed the second of the six circuits in Emilia the now solo Grabovskyy was brought back into the fold.

As the bunch approached the penultimate rise going into the finish it split into two, with overall leader Ivan Santaromita making the selection, and Riccardo Riccò, who was sitting in second overall, being caught out in the chasing group.

The long fast finishing straight saw Kump power his way to the win.

The overall leader remained Ivan Santaromita (Liquigas - Doimo) after the stage, and he now has 1:43 on Przemyslav Niemiec (Miche) and 2:25 Jose Serpa Perez (Androni - Diquigiovanni). Riccò was the biggest loser on the day, falling to fifth after missing the final selection.

Tomorrow's final stage of the Settimana Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali will take the peloton from Fiorano Modenese to Sassuolo.

2010 Settimana Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali stage 4 results:
1) Marko Kump (Adria Mobil) in 4h20'59 @ 42.256 kph
2) Simone Ponzi (Lampre Farnese Vini)
3) Claudio Corioni (De Rosa Stac Plastic)
4) Francisco José Ventoso (Carmiooro Ngc)
5) Davide D'Angelo (Cdc Cavaliere)
6) Damiano Caruso (De Rosa Stac Plastic)
7) Santo Anzà (Ceramica Flaminia)
8) Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre Farnese Vini)
9) Rafai Chtioui (Acqua & Sapone)
10) Mauro Finetto (Liquigas Doimo)

General Classification after stage 4:
1) Ivan Santaromita (Liquigas Doimo)
2) Przemyslaw Niemiec (Miche) @ 1'43"
3) José Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Androni Giocattoli Serramenti Pvc Diquigiovanni) @ 2'25"
4) Leonardo Bertagnolli (Androni Giocattoli Serramenti Pvd Diquigiovanni)
5) Riccardo Riccò (Ceramica Flaminia) @ 2'44"
6) Riccardo Chiarini (De Rosa Stac Plastic) @ 2'44"
7) Damiano Caruso (De Rosa Stac Plastic) @ 2'52"
8) Sergio Pardilla (Carmiooro Ngc) @ 3'03"
9) Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli Serramenti Pvc Diquigiovanni) @ 3'05"
10) Fortunato Baliani (Miche)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC