Fédrigo takes out Critérium International; Millar wins time trial
  June 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Fédrigo takes out Critérium International; Millar wins time trial

by Bjorn Haake at 10:01 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, Critérium International

Pierrick Fédrigo (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) won the Critérium International overall title by placing 13th in the final time trial. David Millar won the 7.7km race against the clock, ahead of Alberto Contador and Michael Rogers.

Fédrigo had a 17-second margin over Tiago Machado and Samuel Sánchez. He only lost three, respectively four seconds to his closest rivals, which gave him the overall victory.  Rogers moved up to second in GC with his win, ahead of Machado and Sánchez.

Fédrigo finished  off a strong showing of the French team which did not receive the ProTour status this year. "I am like a kid now, it feels really good," he said to AFP after his victory, which came after weeks of trying. "Since the beginning of the season, I was hovering around a victory, with multiple podium placings, but I was never there to finish it off."

The best strategy? "You have to be patient. In the time trial, I didn't have any info. I had no earpiece, as it disconnected right at the start - I took it out." Fédrigo didn't panic. "Over seven kilometers you can't calculate anyway, it is pure willpower." The Frenchman was well prepared for the battle. "I checked out the course three or four times. Then it is just make it or break it - and I made it."

Lance Armstrong finished 15th, 19 seconds behind Millar. "This was not a very smooth time trial, there were a lot of turns, roundabouts, and descends," he said at the finish line to letour.fr "I still sense that I improved a lot since the Vuelta a Murcia, I am more consistent now. Yesterday was very difficult, we rarely have the opportunity to climb these kinds of mountains this time of the year.

"But I always dreamed to come to Corsica, it is absolutely magnificent. Besides Texas, there is nothing better!"

Results - ITT 7.7km

1. David Millar (Garmin - Transitions) 09:50 min
2. Alberto Contador (Astana) 09:51
3. Michael Rogers (Team Htc - Columbia) 09:53
4. Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) 09:59
5. Benat Intxausti (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 10:00
6. Maxime Monfort (Team Htc - Columbia) 10:01
7. Laurent Mangel (Saur-Sojasun) 10:01
8. Cadel Evans (Bmc Racing Team) 10:01
9. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 10:02
10. Tiago Machado (Team Radioshack) 10:04

Final general classification

1. Pierrick Fedrigo (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) 7h11' 59
2. Michael Rogers (Team HTC - Columbia) 0'14
3. Tiago Machado (Team Radioshack) 0'15
4. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 0'19
5. David Millar (Garmin - Transitions 0'19
6. Cadel Evans (Bmc Racing Team) 0'22
7. Christopher Horner (Team Radioshack) 0'25
8. Maxime Monfort (Team HTC - Columbia) 0'26
9. Ben Hermans (Team Radioshack) 0'35
10. Benat Intxausti (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 0'39


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC