Bos wins opening stage in Castilla y León
  June 22, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Bos wins opening stage in Castilla y León

by Bjorn Haake at 12:03 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, Castilla y León

Theo Bos used his sprinting expertise to take the opening stage of the Vuelta a Castilla y León, between Belorado and Burgos over 157,7 kilometers. Bos of the Cervélo TestTeam beat Graeme Brown (Rabobank) and Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel-Euskadi) and took over the leader's jersey.

After 15km, the break of the day formed, with Iban Mayoz (Footon), José Toribio (Andalucía CajaSur) and Marcos García (Xacobeo). The gap never went out too far and at the Alto de la Pedraja, 85km from the line, it was 1'40 between the break and the bunch.

Only a few kilometers later the three were caught and replaced by Oleg Chuzdha (Caja Rural) and Mikel Ilundáin (Orbea). The duo had a maximum lead of three minutes. Astana pulled the peloton, but was eventually helped by the Cervélo TestTeam. That brought the gap down to 1'50 with 17km remaining.

But with around ten kilometers to go, the break was over and the bunch sprinters readied themselves.

"We decided today that we would work for me in the sprint. The plan was that we rode the last 25 kilometres full gas to hold everything together," said Bos after the race.

"Actually I didn't feel super well today, as I was pretty tired from Paris-Roubaix last weekend. But when the final started I came into a good position at the front, then my teammates brought me in the last kilometre to the front position but I didn't want to come early. I waited until I saw the sprinters coming up then I started my sprint as well. [Graeme] Brown (Rabobank) who was in my wheel was not able to pass me and came second. Tomorrow is another change, probably it will be a sprint as well, we will again give our best. Hopefully we can do it again, why not?"

Bos' win makes today the fourth second place finish for runner-up Brown this year, with two of them at the hands of the Dutchman.  The other was the Cervelo rider's second win for the team in stage five of the Tour of Murcia last month.


1. Theo Bos (Cervélo TestTeam)
2. Graeme Brown (Rabobank)
3. Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel-Euskadi)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC