2010 Tour of Britain route announced
  June 22, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

2010 Tour of Britain route announced

by VeloNation Press at 1:15 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Britain

Organizers of the Tour of Britain have revealed the route for this year's event.  For 2010, the Tour will once again take place over eight days, beginning in Rochdale on Saturday September 11th and finishing at the heart of London on Saturday September 18th.

For the first time in its history Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex have been included, with the race also visiting Wales for the first time since 2004.

On the final day the peloton will face a circuit of the London borough of Newham, which will be the site of the 2012 Olympic Games. As expected, the new British Team Sky will be making an appearance as one of the 16 teams invited.

Last while riding for the Columbia-HTC team Edvald Boasson Hagen took the overall victory along with four stages.  This year the Norwegian is now riding for Team Sky along with Ben Swift who also won a stage last year.

2010 Tour of Britain stages:

Stage 1: Rochdale to Blackpool (126km)

Stage 2: Stoke-on-Trent (160km)

Stage 3: Newton to Swansea (150km)

Stage 4: Minehead to Teignmouth (171km)

Stage 5: Tavistock to Glastonbury (176km)

Stage 6: King's Lynn to Great Yarmouth (189km)

Stage 7: Bury St Edmunds to Colchester (151km)

Stage 8: London (100km)

An Post Sean Kelly
Cervelo TestTeam
Garmin Transitions
HTC Columbia
Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta
Rapha Condor Sharp
Saxo Bank
Sigma Sport Specialized
Skil Shimano
Team Sky
Topsport Vlaanderen


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC