Amaran wins Tour of the Gila stage two, Leipheimer maintains overall lead
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Amaran wins Tour of the Gila stage two, Leipheimer maintains overall lead

by VeloNation Press at 10:48 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Luis Amaran (Jamis-Sutter Home p/b Colavita) took the victory today in stage two of the Tour of the Gila, outsprinting Levi Leipheimer (Mellow Johnny’s), who initited the race winning attack with just over a kilometer remaining.  Kyle Wamsley (Bissell Pro Cycling) led home the peloton for third.  For his efforts, Leipheimer remains in control of the overall classification.

The expected high winds that were absent on yesterday's stage reared their ugly head today, which made tough work of the 128.8 kilometer stage.  On the first of the three category three climbs the duo of Ben King (Trek-Livestrong) and Danny Summerhill (Holowesko Partners) established a small gap.  The peloton was content to hold the pair at 30 seconds, until the momentum from the final bonus sprint wiped their lead away.  Everything was set for a bunch sprint going into the town of Bayard, with Leipheimer's Mellow Johnny's teammates Lance Armstrong and Jason McCartney working to keep their leader up front and out of trouble in the harsh winds.  In the end it was Leipheimer who took the race in his hands, jumping away with Amaran following and passing the Californian with a massive tailwind to the line.

Tomorrow's 26.6 kilometer time trial in Tyrone is again expected to be windy, with the National Weather Service predicting winds of up to 20mph.  The out and back course begins with the category four ascent of the Little Burro Pass, and on the way back the pass is rated category three and features gradients of up to 7 percent.  The last seven kilometers will be fast as the riders descend to the finish.

Tour of the Gila stage two results:
1. Luis Amaran (Cub / Jamis Sutter Home p/b Colavita) in 3:25:02
2. Levi Leipheimer (USA) at 0:02
3. Kyle Wamsley (USA) 0:05
4. Rory Sutherland (Aus) 0:13
5. David Tanner (Aus)

45. Lance Armstrong (USA) 0:36

Overall after stage two:

1. Levi Leipheimer (Mellow Johnny's) in 7:13: 16
2. Tom Danielson (USA) 0:27
3. Cesar Grajales (Col) 0:33
4. Philip Zajicek (USA)
5. Luis Amaran (Cub) 0:35

25. Lance Armstrong (USA) 2:26


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC