Regina Bruins wins windy Aude prologue
  June 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, May 14, 2010

Regina Bruins wins windy Aude prologue

by Ben Atkins at 3:12 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Regina Bruins (Cervélo TestTeam) won the prologue of the Tour de l’Aude around the Mediterranean seaside town of Gruissan. The 23-year-old Dutch time trial champion completed the 3.9km in 4’48”, 4 seconds faster than she rode the exact same course that she finished second on last year. She beat last year’s prologue winner Linda Villumsen (HTC-Columbia) by 4 seconds, and Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) by a further second.

“It was a very good result today,” said Cervélo TestTeam director Egon Van Kessel. “We had three riders in the top ten. These results were important and very good for our morale going into the rest of the Tour.

“I was not worried about Regina’s performance,” he added. “I knew she could make it. Last year she was second here and this year she made it to the top. For tomorrow’s stage we will have to think a bit about our tactics. The Tour de l’Aude is long and we should not use to much energy at the beginning.”

Tomorrow’s stage 1 will take in a 117km loop starting and finishing in the village of Rieux Minervois. The course features a number of hills and undulations but may well end in a sprint, where the winner of the identical stage last year, Ina Teutenberg (HTC-Columbia), will be the hot favourite.

Result prologue
1. Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervélo TestTeam
2. Linda Villumsen (NZl) HTC-Columbia @ 4s
3. Marinane Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit @ 5s
4. Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervélo TestTeam @ 7s
5. Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit @ 8s
6. Evelyn Stevens (USA) HTC-Columbia @ 9s
7. Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC-Columbia @ 9s
8. Lizzie Armitstead (GBr) Cervélo TestTeam @ 9s
9. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) German National Team @ 11s
10. Emma Johansson (Swe) RedSun Cycling Team @ 11s

Standings after prologue
1. Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervélo TestTeam
2. Linda Villumsen (NZl) HTC-Columbia @ 3s
3. Marinane Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit @ 4s


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC