Vuelta a España: Sastre gets strong Cervélo support, Arroyo and Sanchez to lead Caisse d’Epargne
  May 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, August 23, 2010

Vuelta a España: Sastre gets strong Cervélo support, Arroyo and Sanchez to lead Caisse d’Epargne

by Conal Andrews at 10:39 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Vuelta a España
Both teams will have Spaniards eying the overall in their home Grand Tour

Thor HushovdCarlos Sastre has got his wish in relation to the final Grand Tour he will ride with the Cervélo TestTeam. The Spaniard requested a strong support squad for the Vuelta a España and will receive solid backing as he aims to chase a podium place in the race.

He will head the nine man team for the Vuelta a España, which begins with the team time trial in Seville next Saturday evening. Thor Hushovd will chase stage wins on the flat, while the highly experienced 41 year old Iñigo Cuesta will once again act as a faithful lieutenant for Sastre.

The team is completed by Paris-Nice stage winner Xavier Tondo, 2009 Vuelta stage victor and top-ten finisher Philip Deignan, former world track sprint champion Theo Bos, Xavier Florencio, Oscar Pujol and Stefan Denifl.

“With a strong and balanced team that includes Carlos Sastre and Thor Hushovd, Cervélo TestTeam is ready to tackle the challenges of the 21-stage Vuelta a España,” said the Swiss team in a statement.

“Hushovd will look for stage victories, while Sastre, racing on home soil, is focused on the podium in the general classification.”

Philippe Mauduit, Alex Sans Vega and Jens Zemke will be the sporting directors in the race.

David ArroyoMeanwhile Giro d’Italia runner up David Arroyo and recent Clasica San Sebastian victor Luis Leon Sanchez will head the Caisse d’Epargne lineup for the race. Both have the potential to fight for a place in the top ten or higher, although Arroyo’s Giro ranking did benefit from time gained in the massive break on the stage to Aquila. He rode strongly for the remainder of the race, though, and so if he can reproduce that form and determination, he could surprise.

Notably absent from the lineup is last year's victor, Alejandro Valverde, who is currently serving a suspension for his involvement with the Operación Puerto scandal.  His Vuelta win marked the Spaniard's first Grand Tour success, but he will now be forced to wait until 2012 to attempt to add to his tally.

Marzio Bruseghin, Imanol Erviti, José Vicente García Acosta, David López, Luis Pasamontes, Rubén Plaza, and Rigoberto Urán will support them, while Eusebio Unzué, José Luis Jaimerena and Alfonso Galilea will act in a management role.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC