USA names Beijing bike squad
  July 16, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

USA names Beijing bike squad

by Agence France-Presse at 1:56 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
USA Cycling Tuesday announced today 21 of their 24 nominees to the 2008 US Olympic Team, including all 16 men headed to Beijing.

A dozen of those selected to compete in road cycling, track cycling, mountain biking and bicycle motocross (BMX) earned automatic nominations under USA Cycling's Olympic selection procedures. Nine more were chosen by a selection committee.

Levi Leipheimer, third overall in the 2007 Tour de France, was the only man to earn automatic nomination in road cycling.

He'll be joined in the mass start road race by George Hincapie, Jason McCartney, Christian Vande Velde and David Zabriskie.

Hincapie becomes the only five-time Olympic cyclist in US history. Leipheimer and Zabriskie were also selected to compete in the time trial.

Kristin Armstrong earned automatic selection for the women's road team in both the mass start race and time trial.

The track cycling team will include Michael Blatchford, Bobby Lea, Taylor Phinney, Adam Duvendeck, Giddeon Massieon, Michael Friedman the men's side and women Sarah Hammer and Jennie Reed.

In BMX, which will make its Olympic debut in Beijing, the four-person US team will include Kyle Bennett, current world No. 1 Donny Robinson, Mike Day and Jill Kintner.

Todd Wells and Adam Craig were selected for men's mountain biking, with Georgia Gould making the women's team.

The last three committee selections, which include two women's road racers and one woman mountain biker, will be announced by July 15.

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC