Adam Blythe wins Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen
  June 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Adam Blythe wins Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen

by Ben Atkins at 3:11 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Fall Classics, Race Reports and Results
Young British sprinter continues winning streak to close the Belgian road season

adam blytheAdam Blythe (OmegaPharma-Lotto) won the Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen as the 183km race finished in a bunch sprint. The British rider, who recently turned 21, managed to hold on to the form that saw him win two stages and the overall classification of the Circuit Franco-Belge nine days ago. He beat Belgian Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) and Stefan van Dijk (Verandas Willems) in the race whose name literally means the “closing race” as it is the final contest of the road season.

“I took two stages and the overall win at the Circuit Franco-Belge earlier this month,” Blythe said to Het Laatste Nieuws. “Today is the fourth time I’ve been on the top step of the podium; maybe the season should last a little longer for me!

“No, seriously,” he added, “enough is enough. This victory is a nice end to a successful season.”

Run over eleven laps of a 6.7km circuit, the race was dominated by a breakaway group of five riders, consisting of: Nick Nuyens (Rabobank), Thomas De Gendt (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator), Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil), David Boucher (Landbouwkrediet) and Mitchell Docker (Skil-Shimano).

They were originally joined by Rob Goris (Palmans-Cras), but he was disqualified by the race judges for trying to rejoin the leaders in an illegal manner after a mechanical problem.

The quintet was never able to get more than 3 minutes clear and with the peloton closing in with two laps to go De Gendt tried to get away alone. As the Belgian crossed the line with one lap to go he still led by 40 seconds, but he was soon enveloped by the peloton and the race finished in a sprint.

Result Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen
1. Adam Blythe (GBr) OmegaPharma-Lotto
2. Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step
3. Stefan van Dijk (Ned) Verandas Willems
4. Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Team Milram
5. Jempy Drucker (Lux) Continental Team Differdange
6. Kenny Dehaes (Bel) OmegaPharma-Lotto
7. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen-Bauknecht
8. Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
9. Yoeri Havik (Ned) Van Vliet-EBH-Elshof
10. Egidijus Juodvalkis (Ltu) Palmans-Cras


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC