Under-23 Paris-Roubaix to be held after all
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Under-23 Paris-Roubaix to be held after all

by Ben Atkins at 1:52 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Spring Classics, Paris-Roubaix
Tour organiser ASO steps in to save the Enfer du Nord for younger riders

paris-roubaix u23The Paris-Roubaix for under-23 riders will be held after all as Tour de France organiser Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO) has stepped in, according to tuttobiciweb.it. Current race organiser VC Roubaix announced last week that it would not be held in 2011 due to the rising cost of policing for the event but ASO, which also organises the senior Paris-Roubaix, has decided to lend a hand in order that one of the most prestigious under-23 races can still be held.

"The cost for the police to accompany the race just went up from 2.4 euros to 12 euros per hour,” Cannone explained to La Voix du Nord at the time. “Unbelievable! We would have needed 20,000 euros."

Now it seems that the €20,000 has been found and the race will take place on May 29th next year. "ASO, already co-organizer of the event, decided to provide additional support for the holding of one of the most important appointment on the calendar for amateurs," said Jean-Charles Canonne, President of the Bicycle Club of Roubaix Lille Metropole, in a statement.

The senior race, of course, traditionally takes place on the second Sunday in April, when the weather and conditions can be much worse than those experienced by the under-23s. The younger riders also cover around 180km, compared to the seniors’ 260km.

Since its beginning in 1967 the under-23 race has been won by some riders who went on to be big names in the sport, including Marc Madiot (1979), Stephen Roche (1980), Thor Hushovd (1998) and Yaroslav Popovych (2001). Madiot went on to win the senior version, in 1985 and 1991, before directing Frederic Guesdon, the last Frenchman to win, in 1997.

The last two editons of the race have been won by Taylor Phinney of Trek-Livestrong, who will ride with BMC Racing next year, while the 2008 edition was won by Coen Vermeltfoort, who will make the step up from the Rabobank Continental team to the ProTeam in 2011.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC