Bissell Pro Cycling Team Gears up for 2009
  April 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Bissell Pro Cycling Team Gears up for 2009

by VeloNation Press at 4:15 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
The BISSELL Pro Cycling Team announces that BISSELL Inc. will continue as the title sponsor of one of the country’s top continental cycling teams for 2009. Mark Bissell, Chairman and CEO of BISSELL Inc., builds on his six-year history with cycling by assuming ownership of the team, which will come under the direction and management of Glen Mitchell.

"The team has had a fantastic year and has surpassed the goals that we had in the beginning of the year," says Mitchell. "I am very excited about becoming more involved with the team, and I look forward to the challenges ahead in building this team to the next level. We have a solid platform of riders from this year and have recruited some talented athletes to strengthen the squad at our targeted races for ’09." Joining Mitchell on the management team is Eric Wohlberg, who, after 16 years as one of the strongest riders in North America, will assume the new role as Sport Director.

Time trial powerhouses Ben Jacques-Maynes and Tom Zirbel will be returning to next year’s team, and will play key roles as team leaders. Jacques-Maynes was ranked 3rd in this year’s NRC standings, while Zirbel completed his season with an impressive second place finish at the USPRO Time Trial.

Key additions to the 2009 roster include Kirk O’bee (Health Net), Peter Latham (Albi Velo Sport) and Andy Jacques-Maynes (California Giant). The team is strengthening its sprinting game with the addition of O’bee, two-time U.S. Criterium Champion. He will be supported by the leadout power provided by Peter Latham, New Zealand Olympian and World U23 Championship Medalist. Jacques-Maynes joins his brother, Ben, following a strong season that netted him 2nd in the Elite National Road Championships and 3rd in the Elite Time Trial Championships.

Returning climbing sensation, Burke Swindlehurst, brings his years of strength and stability to the team. Alongside Burke, are BISSELL veterans, Jeremy Vennell, Omer Kem, Joao Correia, and Graham Howard, who will provide the backbone for the team.

A crop of young and up-and-coming riders rounds out next year’s lineup. Returning rider, Morgan Schmitt was named best young rider at Mt. Hood. He will be joined by Sheldon Deeny (Empire Cycling), who has impressed at key domestic races in 2008; 20-year-old Cody O’Reilly (Successful Living), a promising sprinter who recently took 2nd place at the U.S. Track Champs Scratch Race; champion-runner-turned-cyclist Paul Mach (DBC Race Team), who has been garnering attention as a serious climber in the NorCal area; and an elite and versatile sprinter, Tim Farnham (NorCal Bike Sport).

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC