Belgian Landbouwkrediet team heads back to the Tour de Langkawi
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, December 31, 2010

Belgian Landbouwkrediet team heads back to the Tour de Langkawi

by VeloNation Press at 6:16 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour de Langkawi
Verheyn, Stallaert and Planckaert all expected to be aggressive in prestigious Malaysian race

Baptiste PlanckaertVeteran Geert Verheyen plus two exciting talents, Joeri Stallaert and Baptiste Planckaert, are expected to be amongst the most aggressive riders on the all-Belgian Landbouwkrediet team confirmed for the Tour de Langakwi.

The squad is heading back to the Malaysian race after an absence of four years, and will join previously-confirmed squads such as Skil-Shimano, Colnago-CSF, Androni Giocattoli, Tabriz Petrochemical, Drapac-Porsche, Giant Asia and the Aisan Racing Team. More squads are expected to be announced prior to the January 23rd start date.

Verheyen finished second behind defending champion Fabian Wegmann in the 2010 Eschborn-Frankfurt City Loop, riding strongly on a tough course. Stallaert took seventh in the Under 23 Paris-Tours, while Planckaert (pictured) was fifth in the H.C. Tour de Vendée.

While the latter is no relation to the famous Willy, Walter, Eddy, Jo and Francesco Planckaert, his father Ignaas was a strong rider and beat Greg LeMond to finish second in the 1980 Circuit des Ardennes.

“We all know how Belgium is important in the world of cycling, so we wanted to have a team from this country where media cover so much of bike racing”, said Le Tour de Langkawi CEO Mohamed Salleh.

“Landbouwkrediet will expand the prestige of our event. We expect them to deliver good results as they have the reputation of having good sprinters. They are very motivated, so I believe they’ll be very competitive.”

The team, which began back in 1992 under the Saxon name, will be managed by former Tour de France stage victor Marco Saligari. He raced in the event in 1997 and is pleased to head back to Malaysia. “I’ve always kept fond memories of Le Tour de Langkawi. I think it’s the best way for a team like ours to start the new season.”

The team will be completed by Davy Commeyne, Sébastien Delfosse and Benjamin Gourgue.

The 2.HC Tour de Langkawi begins on Langkawi Island on January 23rd and runs for ten days, with the riders covering 1315.4 kilometres in hot, humid conditions. The majority of the stages are flat and will suit sprinters or breakaway groups, but the big showdown on the climb of Genting Highlands means that a climber is almost certain to win the overall classification.

José Rujano is the most recent winner of the event.


Landbouwkrediet for 2011 Tour de Langkawi:

Davy Commeyne, Sébastien Delfosse, Benjamin Gourgue, Baptiste Planckaert, Joeri Stallaert And Geert Verheyen (all Belgians)

Team Manager: Marco Saligari


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC